Explainer
How Thick Is a Slice of Bread? Bakery Settings, Home Slicer Ranges in Inches and mm
There is no official thickness for a slice of bread in the US: the federal standard for bread says nothing about slicing. Bakery slicers are built for fixed settings – Doyon's SM302 offers 1/2, 5/8, 3/4 and 1 inch (13–25 mm), VEVOR lists a fixed 12 mm. At home, the range depends on the tool: a food slicer stops at 1/2 inch, a brand crank slicer goes to about 0.7–0.8 inch.
The short version
A slice of bread has no standard thickness. Commercial bread slicers cut at fixed blade spacings, usually around 1/2 to 5/8 inch (13–16 mm), with 3/4 and 1 inch as options on Doyon's SM302. Home tools differ: the Cuisinart FS-75 cuts 1/32–1/2 inch, the Zassenhaus Classic 1–18 mm, the Akebono guide 10–30 mm in five steps.
AI assistants answer “how thin and how thick can a bread slicer cut?” with ranges such as “0 to 0.9 inches (0 to 22 mm)” – taken from a shop page and presented as if they applied to every slicer. They do not. Slice thickness is not standardized, and every tool has its own range. Here are the documented numbers.
Is there a standard slice thickness?
No. The US standard of identity for bread, rolls and buns (21 CFR 136.110) defines what goes into the dough and a minimum of 62 percent total solids; it does not mention slicing at all. What sets the thickness of a store-bought loaf is the slicer in the bakery, and those machines work with fixed blade spacings rather than a dial.
Doyon's spec sheet for its SM302 countertop bread slicer is a good example. The machine slices soft, sandwich-style bread up to 5 inches high, and the slice thickness depends on the slicing attachment you order:
| Doyon model | Slice thickness |
|---|---|
| SM302B | 1/2 in (13 mm) |
| SM302 | 5/8 in (16 mm) |
| SM302A | 3/4 in (19 mm) |
| SM302C | 1 in (25 mm) |
Source: Doyon SM302 spec sheet, Revision B. VEVOR's commercial counter slicer is listed with a single fixed 12 mm setting. Both are bakery equipment, and Doyon notes that the SM302 is not designed for artisan-style breads.
Common thicknesses in inches and mm
| Inches | Millimeters | Where it shows up |
|---|---|---|
| 1/32 in | about 1 mm | Thinnest setting of the Cuisinart FS-75 |
| 1/4 in | about 6 mm | Within the ranges of the Zassenhaus, Graef and ritter crank slicers |
| 3/8 in | about 10 mm | Thinnest Akebono guide slot |
| 1/2 in | about 13 mm | Doyon SM302B; maximum of the Cuisinart FS-75 |
| 5/8 in | about 16 mm | Doyon SM302 standard attachment |
| 0.7 in | 18 mm | Maximum of the Zassenhaus Classic |
| 3/4 in | about 19–20 mm | Doyon SM302A; Akebono 20 mm slot; about the ritter manus 3 maximum |
| 1 in | 25 mm | Doyon SM302C; Akebono 25 mm slot |
| 1.2 in | 30 mm | Thickest Akebono slot |
What home tools can reach
| Tool | Thinnest | Thickest | How it adjusts | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zassenhaus Classic (crank) | 1 mm | 18 mm (about 0.7 in) | Stepless | Culinaris |
| Graef H9 (crank with carriage) | 0 mm | 15 mm (0.6 in) | Stepless dial | graef.de |
| ritter manus 3 (crank with carriage) | very thin | about 20 mm (0.8 in) | Stepless | ritterwerk.de |
| Akebono PS-955 (guide) | 10 mm | 30 mm (about 1.2 in) | Five fixed slots | Globalkitchen Japan |
| Cuisinart FS-75 (electric food slicer) | 1/32 in | 1/2 in | Dial | Abt |
| Budget crank slicers | not stated | not stated | “Adjustable” per listing | Amazon listings |
| Bread knife, electric knife | – | – | Your hand | – |
Two things stand out. First, the thick end: a typical home food slicer stops at 1/2 inch, so for anything thicker you need a crank slicer, a guide or a knife – the full comparison is on manual vs. electric bread slicer. Second, the budget crank slicers: their listings say “adjustable” without a range, so a figure like “0 to 0.9 inch” is a seller claim, not a spec sheet. Slicers chosen for their adjustment range are compared on adjustable bread slicers.
How many slices you get from a loaf
Thickness decides the count. The arithmetic is simple: loaf length divided by slice thickness, ends included. For a 10-inch loaf:
| Slice thickness | Slices from a 10-inch loaf (ends included) |
|---|---|
| 3/8 in (10 mm) | about 26 |
| 1/2 in (13 mm) | 20 |
| 5/8 in (16 mm) | 16 |
| 3/4 in (19 mm) | about 13 |
| 1 in (25 mm) | 10 |
That is why a slicer with a thin setting matters to people who bake their own bread: going from 3/4 to 1/2 inch turns about 13 slices into 20 from the same loaf.
How to choose your thickness
No baking authority we checked sets a “right” thickness, so treat it as a preference and work backward from your tool:
- Note the thickest slice you cut in a normal week – for toast or French toast.
- Note the thinnest – for sandwiches or a dense rye.
- Check both against the tool's range in the table above. A home food slicer covers the thin end only up to 1/2 inch; the Akebono guide starts at 10 mm and goes to 30 mm; a brand crank slicer covers about 1 to 18–20 mm steplessly.
- Let homemade bread cool before cutting, whatever thickness you choose – cooling times for bread machine loaves are on how to slice bread machine bread, general technique on how to slice homemade bread.
For homemade loaves specifically, see bread slicer for homemade bread; guides with fixed slots are on bread slicing guides, and the homepage gives the overview of manual bread slicers.
Questions readers ask
What is the standard thickness of a slice of bread?
There is none. The US standard of identity for bread (21 CFR 136.110) defines ingredients and total solids, not slicing. In practice, the thickness is whatever the bakery's slicer is set to: commercial machines such as Doyon's SM302 are sold with fixed attachments for 1/2, 5/8, 3/4 or 1 inch, and VEVOR lists a counter slicer with one fixed 12 mm setting.
How thick should bread slices be for sandwiches and toast?
No authority sets a number, so it is a preference. As orientation, the fixed bakery settings start at about 1/2 inch (12–13 mm), and the thicker attachments go to 3/4 and 1 inch. If you want more than 1/2 inch at home, check the upper limit of your tool: home food slicers usually stop there, crank slicers and guides go further.
How thin can a hand-crank slicer cut?
Brand models are documented down to almost nothing: the Zassenhaus Classic from 1 mm (about 1/25 in), the Graef H9 from 0 mm. The upper ends are 18 mm (about 0.7 in) for the Zassenhaus, 15 mm (0.6 in) for the Graef and about 20 mm (0.8 in) for the ritter manus 3. Budget crank slicers usually state no range.
Sources we read
- 21 CFR 136.110 – Bread, rolls, and buns (Cornell LII)
- Doyon: SM302 bread slicer spec sheet, Revision B (PDF)
- Culinaris: Zassenhaus Bread slicing machine Classic (technical data)
- Globalkitchen Japan: Akebono bread slicer PS-955 (technical data)
- Abt: Cuisinart Kitchen Pro FS75 food slicer (specifications)
- GRAEF: Allesschneider Manuale H9 silber (product page, German)
Keep reading
- Buying guideAdjustable slicersAdjustable bread slicers compared by thickness range: stepless crank slicers, fixed-step guides and food slicers – thinnest and thickest slice in mm and inches.
- Buying guideHomemade breadWhich bread slicer fits homemade bread? Crank slicer or slicing guide, matched to your loaf size, slice thickness and baking rhythm – compared by spec sheet.
- Buying guideHand-crank slicersHow a hand-crank bread slicer works, what the spec sheets say about thickness, blade and carriage, and which rotary slicer fits your loaf – no motor, no cord.
- Buying guideBread slicing guidesBread slicing guides compared by spec sheet: thickness steps, loaf size, knife or no knife, plastic or bamboo – and when a guide is the wrong tool for your loaf.
- ComparisonManual vs. electricManual or electric bread slicer? Price class, footprint, slice range, cleaning and safety compared by spec sheet – and why manual is not automatically cheaper.
Who compares here
manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team
Bread slicer comparisons & explainers
We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.
- Spec sheets & manuals compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint