Buying guide
Adjustable Bread Slicer: Thickness Ranges in Inches and Millimeters Compared
An adjustable bread slicer lets you set the slice thickness, but the ranges differ a lot: the Zassenhaus Classic cuts steplessly from 1 to 18 mm (about 1/25 to 0.7 inch), the Graef H9 from 0 to 15 mm, the ritter manus 3 up to about 20 mm, and the Akebono guide only in five fixed steps from 10 to 30 mm. Our pick for a wide, documented range is the Zassenhaus Classic.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
Adjustable means three different things. Crank slicers set the thickness steplessly with a knob: 1–18 mm on the Zassenhaus Classic, 0–15 mm on the Graef H9, up to about 20 mm on the ritter manus 3. Slicing guides use fixed steps (Akebono PS-955: 10 to 30 mm). Home food slicers stop at 1/2 inch. Ranges like 0–0.9 inch on budget crank slicers are seller claims.
What “adjustable” means on a bread slicer
Almost every manual bread slicer is sold as “adjustable”. Behind the word sit three different mechanisms:
- Stepless fence (crank slicers). A knob moves the stop plate closer to or farther from the round blade. Any setting between the minimum and maximum is possible. The Zassenhaus Classic, Graef H9 and ritter manus 3 work this way.
- Fixed steps (slicing guides). The frame has slots or a setting board for a few thicknesses. The Akebono PS-955 has five: 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm.
- Adjustable width. Many plastic guides adjust only to the width of the loaf, not to the slice thickness. A listing that says “adjustable” may mean this.
So the first question for any listing is: adjustable in what, and from how thin to how thick?
Our pick: Zassenhaus Classic
Zassenhaus Classic
The classic rotary bread slicer: serrated Solingen blade, crank, beechwood base – no motor, no cord.
Why here: Stepless from 1 to 18 mm (about 1/25 to 0.7 inch) – thin sandwich slices and thick toast from one documented knob.
Best for: Households that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint.
Strengths
- Stepless 1–18 mm (about 1/25–0.7 in) – from thin sandwich slices to thick toast
- Die-cast and stainless steel body on a beechwood base, four suction feet
- Smallest footprint of the brand hand-crank slicers in our comparison
Weaknesses
- No carriage and no end-piece holder listed – the last piece of the loaf needs care
- Premium price class, several times the unbranded crank slicers
- Only the blade is documented as made in Solingen; retailers list the Czech Republic as country of origin
- Type
- Hand-crank slicer for bread
- Blade
- Round serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated)
- Slice thickness
- 1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)
- Size
- 11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm)
- Weight
- 5.3 lb (2.4 kg)
- Carriage & holder
- Beechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listed
Price class: Premium
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more AdAccording to the retailer Culinaris, the Classic adjusts steplessly from 1 to 18 mm. That covers very thin slices for sandwiches and slices thick enough for toast. The range is published, not estimated, which is why it is our pick on this page. Its limits: no carriage and no end-piece holder listed, and the premium price class. Full details are on the Zassenhaus Classic page.
Thickness ranges side by side
| Slicer | Type | Adjustment | Thinnest | Thickest | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zassenhaus Classic | Hand crank | stepless | 1 mm (about 1/25 in) | 18 mm (about 0.7 in) | Culinaris |
| Graef H9 | Hand crank with carriage | stepless, dial on the fence | 0 mm | 15 mm (0.6 in) | Graef |
| ritter manus 3 | Hand crank with carriage | stepless | “wafer-thin” | about 20 mm (0.8 in) | ritterwerk |
| Brvclon crank slicers | Hand crank | scale line | 0 in (listing) | 0.9 in (listing) | Amazon listing only |
| Unbranded basic crank slicer | Hand crank | adjustable | not stated | not stated | Amazon listing only |
| Akebono PS-955 | Slicing guide | 5 fixed steps | 10 mm (about 0.4 in) | 30 mm (about 1.2 in) | Globalkitchen Japan |
| Kiss Core width & thickness guide | Slicing guide | adjustable | not stated | not stated | Amazon listing only |
| Cuisinart Kitchen Pro FS-75 | Electric food slicer | knob | 1/32 in | 1/2 in | Abt |
Two patterns stand out. First, no documented slicer with its own blade goes beyond about 0.8 inch; the wider ranges come from seller listings. Second, the guide reaches the thickest slice but starts where the crank slicers are already mid-range. The question of which thickness suits sandwich bread, toast or sourdough is covered on bread slice thickness.
| Comparison | Our pick: hand-crank slicerZassenhaus Classic | Our pick: bread, cheese & cured meatGraef H9 | ritter manus 3 | Seller data onlyBrvclon hand-crank slicer, black |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Hand-crank slicer for bread | Hand-crank food slicer with carriage | Hand-crank food slicer with carriage | Hand-crank slicer for bread |
| Blade | Round serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated) | 7.5 in (190 mm) serrated stainless steel | 6.7 in (17 cm) serrated | stainless, 6.69 in (listing) |
| Slice thickness | 1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in) | 0–15 mm stepless (up to 0.6 in) | up to about 20 mm (0.8 in), stepless | 0–0.9 in with scale line (listing) |
| Loaf size | – | – | – | – |
| Size | 11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm) | 14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 in (375 × 365 × 245 mm) | 14.4 × 13.2 × 9.8 in (36.5 × 33.5 × 25 cm) | 13.8 × 11.3 × 7.5 in (listing) |
| Weight | 5.3 lb (2.4 kg) | 6.2 lb (2.8 kg) | 7.3 lb (3.3 kg) | – |
| Carriage & holder | Beechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listed | Stainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder included | Stainless carriage; end-piece holder as accessory | Metal guide, suction cups, wood base (listing) |
| Best for | Households that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint. | Kitchens that slice bread and also firm cheese or cured sausage without electricity. | Anyone who wants a carriage slicer with a wider thickness range than the Graef H9. | Buyers who want the Brvclon crank slicer in black and accept listing data only. |
| Price class | Premium | Premium | Premium | Budget to mid-range |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
Which adjustable slicer fits you?
Which slicer fits you?
If you want the widest documented range for bread, from thin to toast → Zassenhaus Classic
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want thin slices of bread, cheese and cured meat with a carriage → Graef H9
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want the thickest stepless slice among the brand crank slicers → ritter manus 3
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you slice pan loaves with your own knife and like fixed, repeatable steps → Akebono PS-955 guide
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want to see every slicer type ranked
The models in detail
Zassenhaus Classic: 1 to 18 mm
The Classic covers the most ground at the thin end among the bread-only crank slicers: 1 mm is thinner than any guide reaches. Its upper limit of 18 mm is about 0.7 inch – enough for thick toast, but not for French-toast slabs of an inch. The manual names an adjustment knob and a stop plate; there are no printed steps in the data we read, so you set the thickness by eye or with a test slice.
Graef H9: 0 to 15 mm with a dial
Graef sets the H9 steplessly from 0 to 15 mm via a dial on the fence. The range is the narrowest of the three brand crank slicers at the top end, but it starts at zero, which suits cured sausage and cheese as well as thin bread. The carriage with thumb guard and the end-piece holder in the box make thin slices easier to handle safely.
Graef H9
All-metal hand-crank slicer with a stainless carriage, thumb guard and end-piece holder.
Why here: Stepless from 0 to 15 mm with a dial on the fence, plus carriage, thumb guard and end-piece holder for thin slices.
Best for: Kitchens that slice bread and also firm cheese or cured sausage without electricity.
Strengths
- Removable stainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder included
- 7.5-inch (190 mm) serrated stainless blade, slice length 150 mm (about 5.9 in)
- Made at the Graef plant in Arnsberg, Germany, according to the manufacturer
Weaknesses
- Large footprint: 14.8 × 14.4 in (375 × 365 mm)
- Slices only up to 15 mm (0.6 in) – no thick toast slices
- Premium price class
- Type
- Hand-crank food slicer with carriage
- Blade
- 7.5 in (190 mm) serrated stainless steel
- Slice thickness
- 0–15 mm stepless (up to 0.6 in)
- Size
- 14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 in (375 × 365 × 245 mm)
- Weight
- 6.2 lb (2.8 kg)
- Carriage & holder
- Stainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder included
Price class: Premium
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more Adritter manus 3: up to about 20 mm
ritterwerk describes the manus 3 as adjustable from wafer-thin to about 20 mm (0.8 inch). That is the thickest stepless setting among the documented crank slicers. The trade-offs: 7.3 lb, a large footprint and an end-piece holder sold separately.
Budget crank slicers: ranges you cannot check
The Brvclon listings name a thickness scale and a range of 0 to 0.9 inch (about 23 mm); other unbranded crank slicers say only “adjustable thickness”. None of these comes with a data sheet we could read, so the upper limit is a seller claim. They sit in the budget to mid-range price class.
Brvclon
Brvclon hand-crank slicer
A widely listed budget hand-crank slicer: adjustable thickness, scale line, suction cups and a wood base (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Buyers who want the hand-crank principle in the budget to mid-range price class and can live with listing data only.
Unbranded
Crank slicer, basic
A plain hand-crank slicer with adjustable thickness, marketed for homemade sourdough.
Seller data only
Best for: Anyone who wants the cheapest way into a crank slicer and accepts unknown specs.
Guides: fixed steps for your own knife
The Akebono PS-955 is the only guide here with documented steps. Globalkitchen Japan lists 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm and translates them into slice counts for a Japanese sandwich loaf (shokupan): 12 slices at 10 mm, 8 at 15 mm, 6 at 20 mm, 5 at 25 mm and 4 at 30 mm. The retailer calls it a horizontal slicing design. The Kiss Core guide adjusts width and thickness, but its listing does not name the steps.
Akebono (Wahei Freiz)
Akebono PS-955 guide
A compact Japanese slicing guide with five fixed thicknesses and a crumb tray – you bring your own bread knife.
Best for: Sandwich and pan loaves up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide, sliced with your own bread knife.
Kiss Core
Kiss Core width & thickness guide
A slicing guide that adjusts both width and slice thickness (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Bakers who switch between loaf sizes and slice thicknesses.
What to check before you buy
- Thinnest and thickest setting in numbers. “Adjustable” alone tells you nothing. Look for a range in millimeters or inches.
- Stepless or steps. Stepless for in-between settings; steps for repeatable results.
- Where the number comes from. A spec sheet from the maker or a retailer with technical data beats a listing title.
- Loaf size. A wide range does not help if your loaf does not fit. Only the Akebono states its loaf limit (about 7.9 × 5.5 inches); see sourdough slicers for wide boules.
- Electric is not thicker. Home food slicers such as the Cuisinart FS-75 stop at 1/2 inch; more on the page about electric bread slicers.
Typical mistakes
- Reading “adjustable width” as “adjustable thickness”. Many guides only adjust to the loaf.
- Expecting thin slices from a guide. Guides start around 10 mm. For very thin slices, a crank slicer is the tool.
- Taking the seller's maximum at face value. The 0.9-inch claims are not backed by a data sheet in our sources.
Find your slicer
Slicer finder
Question 1 of 4
What do you want to slice?
Cheese and cured sausage need a carriage – a bread-only crank slicer has none.
Our recommendation
If you want one slicer for thin and thick slices of bread, take the Zassenhaus Classic: 1 to 18 mm, documented and stepless. If you also slice cold cuts, the Graef H9 with its 0 to 15 mm dial and carriage fits better. If thick slices matter most and your loaf is a pan loaf, a guide like the Akebono PS-955 reaches 30 mm with your own knife. The mechanism behind the knob is explained on the hand-crank bread slicer page, guides on bread slicing guides, and all models in our comparison of manual bread slicers.
Questions readers ask
Which adjustable bread slicer cuts the thinnest slices?
Among the documented models, the Graef H9 starts at 0 mm and the Zassenhaus Classic at 1 mm; ritterwerk describes the manus 3 as going from wafer-thin. The electric Cuisinart FS-75 starts at 1/32 inch. Slicing guides cannot compete here: the Akebono PS-955 starts at 10 mm (about 0.4 inch), and most other guides do not state their steps.
Which bread slicer cuts the thickest slices?
Among the slicers with a blade of their own, the ritter manus 3 reaches about 20 mm (0.8 inch), the Zassenhaus Classic 18 mm (about 0.7 inch) and the Graef H9 15 mm (0.6 inch). For thicker slices, a guide with fixed steps goes further: the Akebono PS-955 has a 30 mm (about 1.2 inch) step. Home food slicers stop at 1/2 inch.
Is a stepless adjustment better than fixed steps?
Stepless is better if you want in-between settings or very thin slices; you turn a knob and the fence moves. Fixed steps are easier to repeat – you always get the same 15 or 20 mm. Crank slicers such as the Zassenhaus Classic, Graef H9 and ritter manus 3 are stepless; guides like the Akebono PS-955 work in steps.
Can I trust the 0 to 0.9 inch range in budget crank slicer listings?
Treat it as a seller claim. The 0 to 0.9 inch figure appears in Brvclon listings and Amazon titles, but we found no data sheet behind it. The brand models with published specs stay at or below about 0.8 inch. If the upper limit matters, ask the seller and buy where returns are easy.
Sources we read
- Culinaris: Zassenhaus Bread slicing machine Classic (technical data)
- GRAEF: Allesschneider Manuale H9 silber (product page, German)
- ritterwerk: Allesschneider manus 3 (product page, German)
- Globalkitchen Japan: Akebono bread slicer PS-955 (technical data)
- Abt: Cuisinart Kitchen Pro FS75 food slicer (specifications)
Keep reading
- ExplainerSlice thicknessHow thick is a slice of bread? There is no US standard; bakery slicers cut 1/2 to 1 inch at fixed settings. What home slicers and guides reach, in inches and mm.
- Buying guideHand-crank slicersHow a hand-crank bread slicer works, what the spec sheets say about thickness, blade and carriage, and which rotary slicer fits your loaf – no motor, no cord.
- ComparisonBest manual bread slicersThe best manual bread slicers compared by spec sheet: Zassenhaus Classic, Graef H9, ritter manus 3 and seven budget crank slicers – slice range, size, price class.
- Buying guideBread slicing guidesBread slicing guides compared by spec sheet: thickness steps, loaf size, knife or no knife, plastic or bamboo – and when a guide is the wrong tool for your loaf.
- Model profileZassenhaus ClassicZassenhaus Classic manual bread slicer: 1–18 mm stepless, Solingen blade, 5.3 lb, suction feet – the documented specs, what is missing and who it suits.
Who compares here
manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team
Bread slicer comparisons & explainers
We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.
- Spec sheets & manuals compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint