Skip to content
Manual BreadSlicer
Menu

Question & answer

Is the Zassenhaus Bread Slicer Worth It Compared With Budget Hand-Crank Slicers?

It is worth it if you want documented specs and a known brand: the Zassenhaus Classic states its 1–18 mm range, size, weight and Solingen blade, while the budget crank slicers state almost nothing. It is not worth it if you expect more features – the Classic has no carriage or end-piece holder either, and it sits in the premium price class.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 3 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short answer

The Zassenhaus Classic is worth its premium price class if documentation matters to you: a stated 1–18 mm stepless range, Solingen blade, die-cast body, 5.3 lb and four suction feet. Budget crank slicers use the same principle but publish no slice range, blade size or loaf limit. What the premium does not buy: a carriage, an end-piece holder or an independent test result.

What's on this page

The question behind most Zassenhaus searches is simple: why pay the premium price class when budget hand-crank slicers on Amazon look almost the same? They share the principle – a crank turns a round serrated blade while you push the loaf against a fence. The difference lies in what is documented, not in an extra feature.

What the premium buys

Zassenhaus ClassicBudget crank slicers (Brvclon, Brvclon aluminum frame)
Slice range1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)0–0.9 in and 0.1–0.9 in (listings, no data sheet)
BladeRound, stainless, wave edge, made in Solingenstainless, 6.69 in (Brvclon listing)
BodyDie-cast metal and stainless steel, beechwood basewood base, metal guide or aluminum alloy frame (listings)
FootingFour suction feetsuction cups (Brvclon listing)
Size and weightabout 11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in, 5.3 lbnot stated
Carriage / end-piece holdernot listednot listed
Maximum loaf sizenot statednot stated
SourceRetailer technical data (Culinaris)Amazon listing only
Price classPremiumBudget to mid-range (Brvclon), budget (aluminum frame)

Read the table from the bottom up: the premium buys a brand with a technical data sheet, a stated slice range and a known blade origin. It does not buy a carriage, an end-piece holder or a stated loaf limit – the Classic lacks those just like the budget models.

Our pick: hand-crank slicerZassenhaus

Zassenhaus Classic

The classic rotary bread slicer: serrated Solingen blade, crank, beechwood base – no motor, no cord.

Why here: The documented brand crank slicer – worth it if a stated slice range and a known blade matter to you.

Best for: Households that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint.

Strengths

  • Stepless 1–18 mm (about 1/25–0.7 in) – from thin sandwich slices to thick toast
  • Die-cast and stainless steel body on a beechwood base, four suction feet
  • Smallest footprint of the brand hand-crank slicers in our comparison

Weaknesses

  • No carriage and no end-piece holder listed – the last piece of the loaf needs care
  • Premium price class, several times the unbranded crank slicers
  • Only the blade is documented as made in Solingen; retailers list the Czech Republic as country of origin
Type
Hand-crank slicer for bread
Blade
Round serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated)
Slice thickness
1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)
Size
11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm)
Weight
5.3 lb (2.4 kg)
Carriage & holder
Beechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listed

Price class: Premium

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more Ad

When the Zassenhaus is worth it

  • You slice bread several times a week and want to know before buying how thin and how thick it cuts.
  • You want a die-cast body with a Solingen blade rather than an anonymous listing that may change its title or ASIN.
  • You value the smallest footprint among the brand crank slicers we compare.

When it is not

  • You also slice cheese and salami. Then the Graef H9, also premium, gives you a carriage with thumb guard and an end-piece holder in the box.
  • Price class decides. The Brvclon hand-crank slicer* and the Brvclon slicer with aluminum frame* follow the same principle in the budget to mid-range class. You accept unknown limits; check the seller's return window.
  • You slice one loaf a week. A slicing guide for your own bread knife may be enough – see are bread slicers worth it.

What nobody has measured

There is no independent measurement of cut quality, crank effort or durability for either the Zassenhaus or the budget slicers in our sources. Claims that one cuts "better" are opinions. What can be compared is the paper trail, and there the Zassenhaus is clearly ahead.

Our answer

For a bread-only kitchen that slices often, yes: the Zassenhaus Classic is the crank slicer whose specs you can check, and that is worth paying for. For bread plus cold cuts, the Graef H9 is the better premium buy. For an occasional loaf, the premium is hard to justify. Full specs are on the Zassenhaus Classic page, the brand overview on Zassenhaus bread slicers, all models in our comparison of manual bread slicers, the mechanism on the hand-crank bread slicer page, and the bigger picture on the manual bread slicer overview.

Questions readers ask

Is there an independent Zassenhaus bread slicer review or test?

We found no lab test by Consumer Reports or America's Test Kitchen (search of 22 October 2026). Good Housekeeping and Eater have published reviews of the Zassenhaus Classic; we have not read them in full and do not quote them. Our comparison relies on the retailer's technical data.

Where is the Zassenhaus bread slicer made?

Only part of that is documented. Zassenhaus is based in Solingen, and the blade is described as made in Solingen. Retailers list the Czech Republic as the country of origin of the Classic and China for the chrome Vintage. We found no statement by Zassenhaus itself on where the slicers are assembled.

What do cheaper hand-crank slicers lack compared with the Zassenhaus?

Mainly documentation. The Brvclon listings name 0 to 0.9 inch with a scale line, a 6.69-inch stainless blade, a metal guide, suction cups and a wood base; the aluminum-frame version is listed with 0.1 to 0.9 inch. Neither states a maximum loaf size, and there is no maker's spec sheet to check the figures.

Sources we read

Keep reading

Who compares here

manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team

Bread slicer comparisons & explainers

We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets & manuals compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare