Skip to content
Manual BreadSlicer
Menu

Comparison

Manual vs. Electric Bread Slicer: Price Class, Space, Slice Range and Safety

Choose a manual hand-crank slicer if you mostly slice bread, want slices thicker than half an inch and have little counter space. Choose an electric food slicer if you also slice cold cuts and firm cheese and never need more than 1/2 inch. Manual is not the cheap option by default: brand crank slicers sit in the premium price class, above a mid-range home food slicer.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 6 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

Manual bread slicers have no motor and no cord; brand models such as the Zassenhaus Classic cut steplessly up to 18 mm (about 0.7 in) on a 5.3-lb footprint. Electric home food slicers such as the Cuisinart FS-75 add motor power and a carriage but stop at 1/2 inch and weigh 12 lb. Bakery-style electric bread slicers are commercial machines, not home appliances.

What's on this page

“Electric manual bread slicer” is a search people actually type – a sign that the two words get mixed up. This page is the decision itself: what a motor gives you, what it costs you in space and slice range, and where the common assumptions go wrong. The product lists for each side are on electric bread slicers and hand-crank bread slicers.

Short verdict

  • Manual (hand-crank) if you slice mostly bread, want slices from very thin up to about 0.7–0.8 inch, and want a compact device without a cord. Our pick: the Zassenhaus Classic.
  • Electric food slicer if you also slice deli meat and firm cheese, want motor power and a carriage, and are fine with a 1/2-inch maximum. Our pick: the Cuisinart Kitchen Pro FS-75.
  • Neither if you slice a loaf a week: a good bread knife, optionally with a guide, does the job – see the best tool for slicing bread.
Our pick: hand-crank slicerZassenhaus

Zassenhaus Classic

The classic rotary bread slicer: serrated Solingen blade, crank, beechwood base – no motor, no cord.

Why here: The manual side of the decision: stepless 1–18 mm, no motor, no cord, and less than half the weight of a home food slicer.

Best for: Households that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint.

Strengths

  • Stepless 1–18 mm (about 1/25–0.7 in) – from thin sandwich slices to thick toast
  • Die-cast and stainless steel body on a beechwood base, four suction feet
  • Smallest footprint of the brand hand-crank slicers in our comparison

Weaknesses

  • No carriage and no end-piece holder listed – the last piece of the loaf needs care
  • Premium price class, several times the unbranded crank slicers
  • Only the blade is documented as made in Solingen; retailers list the Czech Republic as country of origin
Type
Hand-crank slicer for bread
Blade
Round serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated)
Slice thickness
1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)
Size
11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm)
Weight
5.3 lb (2.4 kg)
Carriage & holder
Beechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listed

Price class: Premium

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more Ad

Manual and electric side by side

Hand-crank slicer (Zassenhaus Classic)Electric food slicer (Cuisinart FS-75)Electric knife
DriveYour crank hand130 W motorMotor moves two serrated blades
Slice range1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)1/32–1/2 inFreehand
Footprint11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in14.5 × 9.25 × 10.5 inHandheld
Weight5.3 lb12 lbHandheld
CarriageNone listed; four suction feetCarriage, non-slip feetNone
Also slicesBread only (per retailer)Bread, roasts, firm cheese, fresh meatRoasts, bread
Needs an outletNoYesYes
Price classPremium (brand); budget to mid-range (unbranded)Mid-rangeBudget

Sources: Culinaris technical data for the Zassenhaus Classic, Abt specifications for the Cuisinart FS-75, both read 22 October 2026. For the electric knife we only have the listing.

Comparison: Zassenhaus Classic, Brvclon hand-crank slicer, Cuisinart Kitchen Pro FS-75, Nutrichef electric slicer
ComparisonOur pick: hand-crank slicerZassenhaus ClassicSeller data onlyBrvclon hand-crank slicerOur pick: electric slicing at homeCuisinart Kitchen Pro FS-75Seller data onlyNutrichef electric slicer
TypeHand-crank slicer for breadHand-crank slicer for breadElectric food slicer, 130 WElectric food slicer, 200 W (listing)
BladeRound serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated)–7.5 in removable, undulated stainless steel7.5 in removable stainless (listing)
Slice thickness1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)adjustable with scale line (listing)1/32–1/2 in (about 1–13 mm)0–15 mm (listing)
Loaf size––––
Size11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm)–14.5 × 9.25 × 10.5 in–
Weight5.3 lb (2.4 kg)–12 lb–
Carriage & holderBeechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listedMetal guide, suction cups, wood base (listing)––
Best forHouseholds that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint.Buyers who want the hand-crank principle in the budget to mid-range price class and can live with listing data only.Kitchens that want motor power for bread and cold cuts and slice no thicker than 1/2 inch.Budget buyers who want an electric slicer for bread and deli meat.
Price classPremiumBudget to mid-rangeMid-rangeBudget
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Specs from manufacturer sheets or retailer data; “(listing)” marks Amazon listing data. Swipe sideways on a phone.

The differences, point by point

1. Price class: manual is not automatically cheaper

The common assumption is that manual means cheap and electric means expensive. For brand devices it runs the other way. The Zassenhaus Classic, the Graef H9 and the ritter manus 3 all sit in the premium price class; the Cuisinart FS-75 home food slicer is mid-range. Only unbranded crank slicers such as the Brvclon* reach the budget to mid-range class, and electric knives and slicing guides are budget. Compare by device type, not by the word “manual”. Whether any of it pays off against a knife is the question on are bread slicers worth it.

2. Slice range: the crank goes thicker

The Cuisinart FS-75 adjusts from 1/32 to 1/2 inch, per Abt. The Zassenhaus Classic goes to 18 mm (about 0.7 in), and ritterwerk states about 20 mm (0.8 in) for the manus 3. If you cut thick toast or French-toast slices, a home food slicer stops short. If you want paper-thin slices, both reach the thin end. Typical thicknesses for sandwich bread, toast and sourdough are collected on how thick is a slice of bread.

3. Space and weight

At 12 lb and 14.5 inches wide, a home food slicer usually stays on the counter. The Zassenhaus Classic is about 11.8 × 10 inches and 5.3 lb. The crank slicers with a carriage are larger: the Graef H9 measures 14.8 × 14.4 inches. An electric knife goes in a drawer but gives you no fence.

4. What else it slices

An electric food slicer is built as an all-rounder: Abt lists the Cuisinart for bread, roasts, firm cheeses and fresh meat. A bread slicer such as the Zassenhaus Classic is described for bread. If cold cuts matter, look at the electric side – or at a hand-crank food slicer with carriage such as the Graef H9, which does both without a motor.

5. Effort and speed

A motor removes the crank work. A crank slicer needs one hand to turn and one to push the loaf against the fence. We have no measured time per loaf for either design, so we do not claim one is faster; the practical difference is that the work moves from your arm to the motor.

6. Safety and cleaning

The two designs have different risks, and the advice often gets copied from one to the other.

For electric slicers, OSHA's fact sheet describes food slicers as electrically powered machines with a rotary blade, an on/off switch, a thickness adjustment and a food holder. Written for grocery stores, restaurants and delis, it asks employers to provide cut-resistant gloves where hands can touch the blade and to set the blade fully to zero when the slicer is idle or being cleaned. At home, the manual of your specific slicer is the rule to follow. Neither OSHA nor any source we found gives injury data for home crank slicers.

What about “real” electric bread slicers?

The machines that slice a whole loaf in one pass are bakery equipment. Doyon's spec sheet for the SM302 lists a 200-lb (91 kg) countertop unit with a 1/4 HP motor that slices soft, sandwich-style bread up to 5 inches high at one fixed thickness per slicing attachment (1/2, 5/8, 3/4 or 1 inch), and notes it is not designed for artisan-style breads. VEVOR lists its 370 W counter machine with one fixed 12 mm slice. Neither is a household appliance; the details are on electric bread slicers.

Take manual if … take electric if …

Which slicer fits you?

The Brvclon carries the label “Seller data only”: we have read the listing, not a spec sheet. For the Hamilton Beach electric knife we use the maker's product page (model 74251J).

Our recommendation

For a bread-only household, a hand-crank slicer is the better fit: no cord, a wider slice range and a smaller footprint – our pick is the Zassenhaus Classic, with the trade-off of a premium price class and no carriage. If your slicer has to handle cold cuts as well and half an inch is enough, take the Cuisinart FS-75. If you are unsure whether you need a machine at all, start with guide or hand-crank slicer. All manual options with specs are in our comparison of manual bread slicers, and the overview of manual bread slicers is on the homepage.

Questions readers ask

Is an electric bread slicer better than a manual one?

Not in general. An electric home food slicer brings motor power and a carriage and also handles cold cuts, but typical models stop at 1/2 inch and weigh around 12 lb. A hand-crank slicer has no motor, cuts thicker on brand models (Zassenhaus Classic up to 18 mm, ritter manus 3 up to about 20 mm) and takes less space. Which is better depends on what you slice and how thick.

Are manual bread slicers cheaper than electric ones?

Only at the bottom of the market. Unbranded crank slicers sit in the budget to mid-range price class, but brand crank slicers such as the Zassenhaus Classic, Graef H9 and ritter manus 3 are premium – above a mid-range home food slicer like the Cuisinart FS-75. Electric knives and slicing guides are the budget options.

Which safety rules apply to a manual bread slicer?

Not the ones copied from electric appliances: a hand-crank slicer has no motor and no cord. The real risks are a base that slides, fingers near the blade on the last piece of the loaf, and the exposed blade while cleaning. An electric food slicer is different: follow its manual, and the OSHA fact sheet for workplaces asks for the blade to be set to zero before cleaning.

Is there a home electric bread slicer that slices the whole loaf at once?

Not as a household appliance. Machines that slice a whole loaf in one pass are commercial: VEVOR lists a 370 W counter unit with one fixed 12 mm slice, and Doyon's SM302 is a 200-lb bakery machine with fixed slicing attachments. At home, electric means a food slicer or an electric knife.

Sources we read

Keep reading

Who compares here

manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team

Bread slicer comparisons & explainers

We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets & manuals compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare