Skip to content
Manual BreadSlicer
Menu

Buying guide

Hand-Crank Bread Slicer: How the Rotary Blade Works and Which Models to Buy

A hand-crank bread slicer cuts with a round serrated blade that you turn with a crank while your other hand pushes the loaf against an adjustable fence. For bread alone, our pick is the Zassenhaus Classic with its stepless 1 to 18 mm range (about 1/25 to 0.7 inch); for bread plus cheese and cured sausage, the Graef H9 with a carriage and end-piece holder fits better.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 7 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

A hand-crank (rotary) bread slicer has no motor and no cord: the crank turns a serrated round blade, the fence sets the slice thickness. Brand models such as the Zassenhaus Classic, Graef H9 and ritter manus 3 publish full spec sheets and sit in the premium price class. Budget crank slicers cost far less but their listings rarely state slice range, blade size or maximum loaf size.

What's on this page

How a hand-crank slicer works

A hand-crank bread slicer is the machine half of the manual bread slicer family. It has no motor and no cord. One hand turns the crank, which drives a round serrated blade. The other hand pushes the loaf across the board against a stop plate, the fence. The distance between fence and blade is the slice thickness, set with a knob.

The Zassenhaus Classic manual describes the parts in that order: suction feet, crank, adjustment knob for slice thickness, stop plate, serrated circular knife and board. Its instructions are short: fix the suction feet on a firm, flat, smooth surface, choose the thickness, press the bread lightly against the slicer and turn the crank clockwise. For soft bread it advises turning the crank quickly while pushing the loaf slowly.

Some crank slicers add a carriage: a sliding tray that holds the loaf and moves it past the blade, often with a thumb guard. Others, including the Zassenhaus Classic, have no carriage listed. That difference matters most at the end of the loaf.

Our pick: hand-crank slicerZassenhaus

Zassenhaus Classic

The classic rotary bread slicer: serrated Solingen blade, crank, beechwood base – no motor, no cord.

Why here: The bread-only crank slicer with a documented 1–18 mm range, a Solingen blade and the smallest footprint of the brand models.

Best for: Households that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint.

Strengths

  • Stepless 1–18 mm (about 1/25–0.7 in) – from thin sandwich slices to thick toast
  • Die-cast and stainless steel body on a beechwood base, four suction feet
  • Smallest footprint of the brand hand-crank slicers in our comparison

Weaknesses

  • No carriage and no end-piece holder listed – the last piece of the loaf needs care
  • Premium price class, several times the unbranded crank slicers
  • Only the blade is documented as made in Solingen; retailers list the Czech Republic as country of origin
Type
Hand-crank slicer for bread
Blade
Round serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated)
Slice thickness
1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)
Size
11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm)
Weight
5.3 lb (2.4 kg)
Carriage & holder
Beechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listed

Price class: Premium

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more Ad

The Classic weighs 5.3 lb (2.4 kg) and measures about 11.8 × 10 × 7.5 inches, according to the retailer Culinaris. Its manual limits it to bread. The weak point: no carriage and no end-piece holder, so the last piece needs a holder such as the cake fork the manual suggests. More detail is on the Zassenhaus Classic page.

Which hand-crank slicer fits you?

Which slicer fits you?

Spec sheets side by side

Comparison: Zassenhaus Classic, Graef H9, ritter manus 3, Brvclon hand-crank slicer
ComparisonOur pick: hand-crank slicerZassenhaus ClassicOur pick: bread, cheese & cured meatGraef H9ritter manus 3Seller data onlyBrvclon hand-crank slicer
TypeHand-crank slicer for breadHand-crank food slicer with carriageHand-crank food slicer with carriageHand-crank slicer for bread
BladeRound serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated)7.5 in (190 mm) serrated stainless steel6.7 in (17 cm) serrated–
Slice thickness1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)0–15 mm stepless (up to 0.6 in)up to about 20 mm (0.8 in), steplessadjustable with scale line (listing)
Loaf size––––
Size11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm)14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 in (375 × 365 × 245 mm)14.4 × 13.2 × 9.8 in (36.5 × 33.5 × 25 cm)–
Weight5.3 lb (2.4 kg)6.2 lb (2.8 kg)7.3 lb (3.3 kg)–
Carriage & holderBeechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listedStainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder includedStainless carriage; end-piece holder as accessoryMetal guide, suction cups, wood base (listing)
Best forHouseholds that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint.Kitchens that slice bread and also firm cheese or cured sausage without electricity.Anyone who wants a carriage slicer with a wider thickness range than the Graef H9.Buyers who want the hand-crank principle in the budget to mid-range price class and can live with listing data only.
Price classPremiumPremiumPremiumBudget to mid-range
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Specs from manufacturer sheets or retailer data; “(listing)” marks Amazon listing data. Swipe sideways on a phone.

None of these models publishes a maximum loaf height or width. For a tall loaf from a bread machine or a wide sourdough boule, read the pages on bread-machine loaves and sourdough slicers before you order.

The models in detail

Zassenhaus Classic: the bread specialist

Stepless 1 to 18 mm, a serrated stainless blade made in Solingen, a die-cast and stainless body on a beechwood board and four suction feet (Culinaris). One manual covers four article numbers of the Classic; the gray and green versions on Amazon carry the same data. Cleaning is by hand: brush off crumbs, wipe with a damp cloth, no dishwasher, no soaking, and oil the wooden board from time to time. A replacement blade is listed in the brand's German parts shop.

Strengths: documented range from 1 mm up to about 0.7 inch, compact footprint, replaceable blade. Weaknesses: no carriage or end-piece holder listed, premium price class. The brand is covered on the Zassenhaus brand page, its retro model on Zassenhaus Vintage.

Graef H9: crank slicer with carriage

Graef builds the H9 as an all-purpose slicer for bread, cheese and cured meat. The spec sheet lists a 7.5-inch (190 mm) serrated stainless blade, a stepless range of 0 to 15 mm, a slice length of 150 mm (about 5.9 in), a removable stainless carriage with thumb guard and an end-piece holder in the box. It is large: 14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 inches and 6.2 lb. Graef states that it develops, builds and repairs the slicer at its plant in Arnsberg.

Our pick: bread, cheese & cured meatGraef

Graef H9

All-metal hand-crank slicer with a stainless carriage, thumb guard and end-piece holder.

Why here: The crank slicer with carriage, thumb guard and end-piece holder included – for kitchens that slice more than bread.

Best for: Kitchens that slice bread and also firm cheese or cured sausage without electricity.

Strengths

  • Removable stainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder included
  • 7.5-inch (190 mm) serrated stainless blade, slice length 150 mm (about 5.9 in)
  • Made at the Graef plant in Arnsberg, Germany, according to the manufacturer

Weaknesses

  • Large footprint: 14.8 × 14.4 in (375 × 365 mm)
  • Slices only up to 15 mm (0.6 in) – no thick toast slices
  • Premium price class
Type
Hand-crank food slicer with carriage
Blade
7.5 in (190 mm) serrated stainless steel
Slice thickness
0–15 mm stepless (up to 0.6 in)
Size
14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 in (375 × 365 × 245 mm)
Weight
6.2 lb (2.8 kg)
Carriage & holder
Stainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder included

Price class: Premium

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more Ad

Strengths: the best-documented finger protection here, removable carriage for cleaning. Weaknesses: 15 mm (0.6 in) is the thickest slice, so no thick toast; premium price class; needs counter space.

ritter manus 3: carriage and a wider range

According to ritterwerk, the manus 3 has a 6.7-inch (17 cm) serrated blade, stepless thickness up to about 20 mm (0.8 in), a carriage travel of about 7.9 inches (20 cm), steel feet plus four silicone suction feet and a TÜV Rheinland GS mark. At 7.3 lb (3.3 kg) and 14.4 × 13.2 × 9.8 inches, it is the heaviest model here. The end-piece holder is a separate accessory.

Strengths: thicker slices than the Graef H9, safety mark. Weaknesses: holder costs extra, heavy, premium price class.

Budget crank slicers: listing data only

The large group of unbranded or little-known crank slicers looks similar in photos: a round blade, a crank, a fence and a wooden or plastic base. What is missing is a spec sheet. Their listings rarely name blade size, slice range or maximum loaf size, and we could not find manufacturer pages to check them. That is why they carry the label “Seller data only” and are never our pick.

Brvclon

Brvclon slicer, aluminum frame

Brvclon hand-crank slicer with a stainless blade, aluminum alloy frame and wood base; 10 bread bags in the box (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Budget buyers who want a crank slicer and bread bags in one order.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

Unbranded

Crank slicer, basic

A plain hand-crank slicer with adjustable thickness, marketed for homemade sourdough.

Seller data only

Best for: Anyone who wants the cheapest way into a crank slicer and accepts unknown specs.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

Unbranded

Crank slicer, homemade

Another unbranded hand-crank slicer with adjustable thickness for homemade loaves.

Seller data only

Best for: Budget buyers comparing several no-name crank slicers.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

SOWKIPE

SOWKIPE hand-crank slicer

A white hand-crank slicer with adjustable thickness, marketed for sourdough loaves.

Seller data only

Best for: Buyers who want a named brand among the budget crank slicers.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

CAWIU

CAWIU crank slicer with cover

Hand-crank slicer marketed for round sourdough loaves, with a removable protective cover for storage (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Sourdough bakers who want a cover on the counter and accept listing data only.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

They make sense if you want to try the crank principle in the budget to mid-range price class and can return the slicer if your loaf does not fit. Whether the premium brand is worth the difference is the topic of is the Zassenhaus worth it.

What to check before you buy

  1. Slice range in mm or inches. Decide your thickest slice first, then compare the upper limits: 18 mm (about 0.7 in) on the Zassenhaus Classic, 15 mm (0.6 in) on the Graef H9, about 20 mm (0.8 in) on the ritter manus 3.
  2. Loaf size. None of the brand crank slicers states a maximum loaf height or width. Measure your loaf, ask the seller for the limit and buy where returns are easy – do not guess the fit from photos.
  3. Carriage and end-piece holder. They keep fingers away from the blade on the last slice. The Graef H9 includes both; the ritter manus 3 sells the holder separately; the Zassenhaus Classic lists neither. Which crank works for the left hand is on left-handed bread slicers.
  4. Suction feet and surface. The Zassenhaus manual warns that suction feet may not hold on textured surfaces. A smooth countertop is part of the setup.
  5. Replacement blade. A dull serrated blade is replaced, not sharpened, according to the Zassenhaus manual. Check whether a spare is sold for your model.
  6. Space. Brand crank slicers weigh about 5 to 7 lb and do not fold. If storage is the problem, see foldable bread slicers.

Typical mistakes

  • Buying for the photo, not the loaf. A boule that is wider than the blade can reach will not slice cleanly, whatever the listing says.
  • Assuming manual means cheap. Brand crank slicers sit in the premium price class, above many electric food slicers. The page on electric bread slicers shows the home alternatives with a motor.
  • Copying electric-slicer safety rules. A crank slicer has no motor and no cord. The real risks are a base that slides, the last piece of the loaf and cleaning the exposed blade.
  • Pushing hard and cranking slowly on soft bread. The Zassenhaus manual recommends the opposite: crank quickly, push slowly.

Find your slicer

Slicer finder

Question 1 of 4

What do you want to slice?

Cheese and cured sausage need a carriage – a bread-only crank slicer has none.

Our recommendation

For bread only, the Zassenhaus Classic is the hand-crank slicer to buy: the range, the blade origin and the replacement blade are documented, and it takes the least space among the brand models. If you also slice cheese or salami, or want the best finger protection, take the Graef H9 and accept the larger footprint and the 15 mm limit. If one loaf a week is your pace, a bread slicing guide with your own knife may be enough. All models, including the guides, are ranked in our comparison of manual bread slicers; how we arrive at a pick is explained under how we compare.

Questions readers ask

What is a rotary bread slicer?

Rotary bread slicer is another name for a hand-crank bread slicer. A round serrated blade turns when you crank it, and the loaf is pushed against a fence that sets the slice thickness. It has no motor. The Zassenhaus Classic is a typical example: its manual names a crank, an adjustment knob, a stop plate, a serrated circular knife, a board and suction feet.

How thin and how thick can a hand-crank bread slicer cut?

It depends on the model. According to the spec sheets, the Zassenhaus Classic cuts from 1 to 18 mm (about 1/25 to 0.7 inch), the Graef H9 from 0 to 15 mm (up to 0.6 inch) and the ritter manus 3 up to about 20 mm (0.8 inch). Ranges like 0 to 0.9 inch come from seller listings without a data sheet.

Are hand-crank bread slicers safe?

There is no motor and no cord, so the risks are mechanical: a base that slides, fingers near the blade on the last piece of the loaf, and cleaning the exposed edge. The Zassenhaus manual asks you to fix the suction feet on a smooth, clean surface and to protect your fingers at the end of the loaf, for example with a cake fork as a holder.

Can you sharpen a bread slicer blade?

The manufacturers we checked do not describe sharpening. The Zassenhaus Classic manual says the circular knife may become dull after prolonged use and should then be replaced; it explains the swap with a crosshead screwdriver. Zassenhaus sells a replacement blade for the Classic in its German parts shop.

Sources we read

Keep reading

Who compares here

manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team

Bread slicer comparisons & explainers

We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets & manuals compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare