Skip to content
Manual BreadSlicer
Menu

Compatibility

Bread Slicer for Bread Machine Loaves: Which Slicers Fit Tall 1.5 and 2 lb Loaves

Only if the slicer's height limit is above your loaf – and most slicers do not state one. The Akebono PS-955 slicing guide is the exception: loaves up to about 7.9 inches tall and 5.5 inches wide. Bread machine makers give the loaf weight (1.5 or 2 lb), not its height, so measure your own loaf before you order.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 5 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

A bread slicer fits a bread machine loaf when the loaf is lower and narrower than the slicer's documented limit. Of the slicers we compare, only the Akebono PS-955 guide states one: about 7.9 inches tall and 5.5 inches wide. Hand-crank slicers and most guides give no limit, and bread machine makers state loaf weight, not dimensions. Measure your loaf at its tallest and widest point first.

What's on this page
Tall homemade loaf with a paddle hole in the bottom crust on a cooling rack next to a wooden ruler
Photo: AI-generated (OpenAI)

A bread machine bakes a loaf in a deep pan, and the result is often taller than a store-bought sandwich loaf, with a domed top and a paddle hole in the bottom. That shape is the problem. A slicing guide holds the loaf between two walls, and a hand-crank slicer cuts only as high as its blade reaches. Whether your loaf fits is a question of two numbers – and in most listings, those numbers are missing.

The short answer: what is documented and what is not

ProductMaximum loaf heightMaximum loaf widthSource
Akebono PS-955 slicing guide200 mm (about 7.9 in)140 mm (about 5.5 in)Globalkitchen Japan spec sheet
Zassenhaus Classic crank slicernot statednot statedCulinaris spec sheet
Graef H9 crank food slicernot stated (cutting length 150 mm, about 5.9 in, not defined as loaf height)not statedgraef.de
ritter manus 3 crank food slicernot stated (carriage travel about 20 cm)not statedritterwerk.de
Kiss Core guides, budget crank slicersnot stated"adjustable width" (guides, listing)Amazon listings

And on the bread side: Zojirushi describes the Virtuoso Plus BB-PDC20 as baking a "traditional rectangular shaped" 2-lb loaf, but gives dimensions only for the machine itself (18 × 10.5 × 12.9 in), not for the loaf or pan. The Cuisinart bread maker on this page is listed for loaves up to 2 lb, again without loaf dimensions. So no source lets you match a machine to a slicer on paper. Your ruler does.

The one slicer with a documented limit: Akebono PS-955

Our pick: slicing guideAkebono (Wahei Freiz)

Akebono PS-955 guide

A compact Japanese slicing guide with five fixed thicknesses and a crumb tray – you bring your own bread knife.

Why here: The only slicer here whose maker states a maximum loaf size – you can check the fit before you order.

Best for: Sandwich and pan loaves up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide, sliced with your own bread knife.

Strengths

  • Five settings: 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm (about 0.4 to 1.2 in)
  • Light: about 13 oz (374 g), 9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in – fits a drawer
  • Removable crumb tray, made in Tsubame, Japan

Weaknesses

  • No knife included
  • Loaf up to about 7.9 in high and 5.5 in wide – too narrow for most round boules
  • Hand wash only; plastic parts heat-resistant to 70–120 °C (158–248 °F) per part
Type
Slicing guide for a bread knife
Blade
none – bread knife sold separately
Slice thickness
10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 30 mm (about 0.4–1.2 in)
Loaf size
up to 7.9 in high × 5.5 in wide (200 × 140 mm)
Size
9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in (235 × 159 × 69 mm)
Weight
about 13 oz (374 g)

Price class: Budget

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more Ad

The Akebono PS-955 is a slicing guide made in Tsubame, Japan. It takes loaves up to 200 mm high and 140 mm wide (about 7.9 × 5.5 in), with five fixed slice thicknesses of 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm (about 0.4 to 1.2 in). The guide measures 235 × 159 × 69 mm (9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in), weighs about 13 oz and has a removable crumb tray. No knife is included; you saw with your own bread knife through the slots. It is hand-wash only, and the plastic parts are rated heat-resistant to between 70 and 120 °C (158–248 °F) depending on the part, so let the loaf cool first.

The limit matters: a loaf wider than 5.5 inches does not fit. Measure your pan-baked loaf at its widest point before choosing it.

Fits or not: how to decide for your loaf

Your loaf measuresFitsDoes not fit or unknown
Up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wideAkebono PS-955–
Wider than 5.5 inHand-crank slicers (no side walls)Akebono PS-955; other guides unknown
Taller than 7.9 in–Akebono PS-955; every other slicer unknown
Any size, crank slicer–Height limit not stated by Zassenhaus, Graef, ritter or the budget sellers

A hand-crank slicer has no walls around the loaf, so width is rarely the limit. Height is: the blade has to reach the top of the dome. Since none of the crank slicers we compare states that height, a tall loaf is a fit you can only confirm with the loaf itself. How a crank slicer works is explained on the page about the hand-crank bread slicer.

Slicing guides for bread machine loaves

Comparison: Akebono PS-955 guide, Kiss Core slicing guide, Kiss Core width & thickness guide
ComparisonOur pick: slicing guideAkebono PS-955 guideSeller data onlyKiss Core slicing guideSeller data onlyKiss Core width & thickness guide
TypeSlicing guide for a bread knifeSlicing guide for a bread knifeSlicing guide for a bread knife
Bladenone – bread knife sold separately––
Slice thickness10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 30 mm (about 0.4–1.2 in)–adjustable (steps not stated)
Loaf sizeup to 7.9 in high × 5.5 in wide (200 × 140 mm)adjustable width (listing)adjustable width (listing)
Size9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in (235 × 159 × 69 mm)––
Weightabout 13 oz (374 g)––
Carriage & holder–Crumb tray, folds flat (listing)–
Best forSandwich and pan loaves up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide, sliced with your own bread knife.Occasional bakers who already own a good bread knife and want a foldable plastic guide.Bakers who switch between loaf sizes and slice thicknesses.
Price classBudgetBudgetBudget
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Specs from manufacturer sheets or retailer data; “(listing)” marks Amazon listing data. Swipe sideways on a phone.

The two Kiss Core guides are foldable plastic frames with adjustable width; the second one also adjusts the slice thickness, per the listing. Neither states a maximum loaf height or the thickness steps. Adjustable width helps with loaves of different sizes, but it does not tell you whether a tall dome clears the guide walls. Both sit in the budget price class with seller data only. More guides are compared on the bread slicing guide page.

Hand-crank slicers for bread machine loaves

Comparison: Zassenhaus Classic, Brvclon hand-crank slicer, Brvclon slicer, aluminum frame
ComparisonOur pick: hand-crank slicerZassenhaus ClassicSeller data onlyBrvclon hand-crank slicerSeller data onlyBrvclon slicer, aluminum frame
TypeHand-crank slicer for breadHand-crank slicer for breadHand-crank slicer for bread
BladeRound serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated)–stainless steel (listing)
Slice thickness1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)adjustable with scale line (listing)0.1–0.9 in (listing)
Loaf size–––
Size11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm)––
Weight5.3 lb (2.4 kg)––
Carriage & holderBeechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listedMetal guide, suction cups, wood base (listing)Aluminum alloy frame, solid wood base (listing)
Best forHouseholds that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint.Buyers who want the hand-crank principle in the budget to mid-range price class and can live with listing data only.Budget buyers who want a crank slicer and bread bags in one order.
Price classPremiumBudget to mid-rangeBudget
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Specs from manufacturer sheets or retailer data; “(listing)” marks Amazon listing data. Swipe sideways on a phone.

The Zassenhaus Classic cuts steplessly from 1 to 18 mm with a serrated Solingen blade and weighs 5.3 lb, but Culinaris names no blade diameter and no loaf limit. The two Brvclon models, the standard one and the aluminum-frame version, are budget slicers whose listings name adjustable thickness, a wood base and suction cups – and no loaf size at all. If your loaf is taller than the Akebono's 7.9 inches, one of these is your route, with the fit unconfirmed. Which design suits you better in general is laid out in guide or hand-crank slicer.

How to measure before you buy

  1. Bake and cool your usual loaf

    Use the loaf size you bake most, for example the 2 lb setting. Measure only once it has cooled.
  2. Measure the height

    Stand the loaf upright and measure from the counter to the top of the dome, not the shoulder.
  3. Measure the width

    Measure across the widest point of the sides.
  4. Compare with the spec sheet

    Akebono PS-955: 7.9 in high, 5.5 in wide. For any slicer without a stated limit, the fit is unknown.
  5. Plan for the end of the loaf

    Check whether your slicer has a carriage or end-piece holder. Without one, slice the last piece slowly or finish it with a knife.

If you are buying the bread machine too

The Cuisinart bread maker* in our data bakes loaves up to 2 lb with 12 programs, per the listing. It does not slice, and we found no bread maker that does – the details are on is there a bread maker that slices. Slicing remains a separate tool: a guide for loaves within the Akebono's limits, a crank slicer for taller or wider ones. Other homemade loaves are covered on the page about a bread slicer for homemade bread; all crank slicers with specs are in our comparison of manual bread slicers, and the homepage gives the overview of manual bread slicers.

Questions readers ask

Will a tall 2-lb bread machine loaf fit in a hand-crank slicer?

We cannot say in general, because none of the hand-crank slicers in our comparison states a maximum loaf height, and bread machine makers do not state loaf dimensions. A crank slicer has no side walls, so width is rarely the problem; height is. Measure the tallest point of your loaf and check whether the seller can confirm the blade reaches it.

What is the best bread slicer for bread machine bread?

If your loaf is lower than about 7.9 inches and narrower than 5.5 inches, the Akebono PS-955 is the one slicing guide whose limits are documented by its maker. It has five fixed thicknesses from 10 to 30 mm and a crumb tray; you bring your own bread knife. For taller or wider loaves, a hand-crank slicer is the alternative, with the fit unconfirmed.

Is there a bread machine with a built-in slicer?

We found no bread maker that also slices in the Amazon data behind this site. The bread machines listed there bake the loaf; slicing is a separate step with a knife, a guide or a slicer. Google Ads groups searches for bread slicer machines and for slicers for bread machines together, which is why the terms get mixed up.

How do I measure my loaf for a bread slicer?

Let the loaf cool, set it upright on the counter and measure the height at the top of the dome, then the width at the widest point of the sides. Compare both numbers with the slicer's stated limit. If the slicer gives no limit, treat the fit as unknown and keep the packaging until the first loaf has gone through.

Sources we read

Keep reading

Who compares here

manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team

Bread slicer comparisons & explainers

We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets & manuals compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare