Buying guide
Bread Knife With Slicing Guide: Clip-On Guides, Adjustable Knives and the Documented Alternative
A bread knife with a slicing guide carries the thickness stop on the knife itself: a clip-on bar at 1/2 or 1 inch, a dial-set arm or a frame on a bow knife. The idea is good, but every such knife we found has seller data only. If you want documented limits, the safer combination is a separate guide such as the Akebono PS-955 with a long serrated bread knife.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
Knives with a built-in slicing guide put a stop next to the blade, so each slice comes out at the set width. The models on Amazon offer two fixed settings (1/2 and 1 inch), a dial from 1/2 to 1.75 inch or a guide frame on a bow knife – all per listing, without a maker's spec sheet. A separate guide like the Akebono PS-955 documents its steps and loaf limit.
Three designs under one search
Searches for “bread knife with slicing guide”, “adjustable bread knife” and “bread slicer knife” lead to three different products:
- Knife with clip-on guides. A serrated bread knife with a removable bar that sits parallel to the blade at a fixed distance. The MonteHerra knife uses two magnetic guides for 1/2 and 1 inch.
- Knife with an adjustable guide. The guide arm moves on a scale or dial. The Ruansion knife sets it from 1/2 to 1.75 inches.
- Bow knife with a guide frame. A blade held in a wooden frame, with a guide attached. The TUIKEN knife works this way.
All three have one thing in common with a plain bread knife: you still saw by hand, and the loaf lies free on the board. What the guide adds is a stop against the cut face of the loaf. What it does not add is a frame that holds the loaf on both sides – that is what a bread slicing guide does.
The documented alternative: guide plus knife
Akebono PS-955 guide
A compact Japanese slicing guide with five fixed thicknesses and a crumb tray – you bring your own bread knife.
Why here: Not a knife, but the only guide here with documented steps (10 to 30 mm) and a stated loaf limit – combine it with any long serrated knife.
Best for: Sandwich and pan loaves up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide, sliced with your own bread knife.
Strengths
- Five settings: 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm (about 0.4 to 1.2 in)
- Light: about 13 oz (374 g), 9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in – fits a drawer
- Removable crumb tray, made in Tsubame, Japan
Weaknesses
- No knife included
- Loaf up to about 7.9 in high and 5.5 in wide – too narrow for most round boules
- Hand wash only; plastic parts heat-resistant to 70–120 °C (158–248 °F) per part
- Type
- Slicing guide for a bread knife
- Blade
- none – bread knife sold separately
- Slice thickness
- 10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 30 mm (about 0.4–1.2 in)
- Loaf size
- up to 7.9 in high × 5.5 in wide (200 × 140 mm)
- Size
- 9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in (235 × 159 × 69 mm)
- Weight
- about 13 oz (374 g)
Price class: Budget
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more AdNone of the knives with a built-in guide comes with a maker's spec sheet we could read. That is why our pick on this page is a combination: the Akebono PS-955 guide with a long serrated bread knife of your choice. According to the retailer Globalkitchen Japan, the Akebono has five steps of 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm (about 0.4 to 1.2 inches), takes loaves up to 200 mm high and 140 mm wide (about 7.9 × 5.5 inches), has a crumb tray and comes without a knife. It is hand-wash only and made in Tsubame, Japan.
Its limit is width: most round sourdough loaves are wider than 5.5 inches. For those, a knife with a guide is one of the few options that does not care about loaf size.
Mercer Millennia 10" bread knife
A 10-inch wavy-edge bread knife from a foodservice cutlery maker – the tool every slicing guide needs.
Why here: A 10-inch wavy-edge bread knife with a maker's spec sheet – long enough to cross a loaf in a slicing guide.
Best for: Anyone who slices with a guide or freehand and needs a long serrated knife for crusty loaves and bagels on a board.
Strengths
- 10 in (25.4 cm) blade of one-piece high-carbon Japanese steel, 15° edge, HRC 53–54 (manufacturer)
- Wavy edge meant to get through a tough crust without tearing the soft crumb (manufacturer)
- Santoprene handle with finger guard, NSF certified, limited lifetime warranty (manufacturer)
Weaknesses
- Hand wash only – Mercer says cutlery should never go in a dishwasher
- No fence: slice thickness depends on your hand unless you add a guide
- Type
- Serrated (wavy edge) bread knife
- Blade
- 10 in (25.4 cm), high-carbon Japanese steel, 15° edge, HRC 53–54
- Slice thickness
- freehand – set by your hand or a slicing guide
Price class: Budget
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonAdWhich option fits you?
Which slicer fits you?
If your loaves are pan loaves and you want documented, repeatable steps → Akebono PS-955 guide
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you cut most slices at 1/2 or 1 inch, also on wide boules → MonteHerra knife with guides · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want thick artisan slices set by a dial and a handle for either hand → Ruansion adjustable knife · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want guide and knife in one box and like bamboo → Bambüsi bamboo guide with knife
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you slice several loaves a week and want even slices with less effort
Knives with guide side by side
| Comparison | Seller data onlyMonteHerra knife with guides | Seller data onlyRuansion adjustable knife | Seller data onlyTUIKEN knife with guide frame | Our pick: bamboo guide with knifeBambüsi bamboo guide with knife |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Bread knife with clip-on thickness guide | Bread knife with adjustable thickness guide | Bow-style bread knife with attached guide frame | Foldable bamboo slicing guide with knife |
| Blade | serrated stainless steel, 17 in overall length (listing) | 10 in serrated stainless steel (listing) | about 10.8 in, 304 stainless steel, serrated (listing) | stainless steel bread knife included (manufacturer) |
| Slice thickness | 1/2 in or 1 in (listing) | 1/2–1.75 in by dial (listing) | adjustable (settings not stated) | 3 settings (manufacturer), 1/4–1/2 in (listing) |
| Loaf size | – | – | – | – |
| Size | – | – | – | 12.5 × 9.5 × 2.5 in (manufacturer) |
| Weight | – | – | – | – |
| Carriage & holder | – | – | – | – |
| Best for | Bakers who cut most slices at 1/2 or 1 inch and want the guide on the knife instead of a frame. | Left- and right-handed users who want a dial for thick artisan slices. | Buyers who want a wooden knife-and-guide in one piece and a blade cover for storage. | Anyone who has no good bread knife yet and wants guide and knife in one box. |
| Price class | Budget | Budget | Budget | Budget |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
All four columns come from Amazon listings. They describe settings and materials, but no maker's data sheet backs them, which is why they carry the label “Seller data only”.
The models in detail
MonteHerra: two magnetic guides
The listing describes a serrated stainless blade on a solid beech handle with two magnetic thickness guides, one for 1/2-inch and one for 1-inch slices, and a thumb screw for changing the blade; the overall length is given as 17 inches. Two settings are enough if your slices are always one of the two. Anything in between or thinner is not possible; which thickness suits which bread is covered on bread slice thickness.
Ruansion: dial from 1/2 to 1.75 inches
According to the listing, the Ruansion knife has a 10-inch serrated stainless blade in a lightweight plastic frame and a guide set by a dial with markings from 1/2 to 1.75 inches. The handle is detachable and can be mounted on either side for left- or right-handed use. The range is aimed at thick artisan slices; 1.75 inches is far beyond any crank slicer.
TUIKEN: bow knife with guide frame
The TUIKEN knife is listed as a wooden frame with a 304 stainless serrated blade of about 10.8 inches and an attached guide. Two screws let you reverse the blade for left-handed use, and a blade cover is included. Bow knives without a guide are covered on bread bow knives, and the left-handed question across all slicer types on left-handed bread slicers. The listing says it is not dishwasher-safe and does not state the thickness settings.
MonteHerra
MonteHerra knife with guides
A beech-handled serrated bread knife with two magnetic thickness guides for 1/2-inch and 1-inch slices (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Bakers who cut most slices at 1/2 or 1 inch and want the guide on the knife instead of a frame.
Ruansion
Ruansion adjustable knife
A plastic-framed bread knife with a dial-set guide from 1/2 to 1.75 inches and a handle that mounts on either side (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Left- and right-handed users who want a dial for thick artisan slices.
TUIKEN
TUIKEN knife with guide frame
A wooden bow-style bread knife with an attached guide frame and a reversible blade for left-handed use (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Buyers who want a wooden knife-and-guide in one piece and a blade cover for storage.
Guides sold with a knife
Some slicing guides come with a knife in the box, such as the Bambüsi bamboo guide. That is the other meaning of “bread slicer with knife”. For the Bambüsi, retailer data on slice widths and care disagree; bamboo guides are compared on bamboo bread slicers.
Knife with guide, slicing guide or crank slicer?
| Knife with built-in guide | Slicing guide plus knife (Akebono PS-955) | Hand-crank slicer (Zassenhaus Classic) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Thickness | 1/2 and 1 in, or 1/2–1.75 in (listings) | 10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 30 mm | 1–18 mm stepless |
| Loaf size | any | up to about 7.9 × 5.5 in | not stated |
| Holds the loaf | no | yes, on both sides | fence and board |
| Data source | Amazon listings | retailer technical data | retailer technical data |
| Storage | knife drawer | drawer, 9.3 × 6.3 in | counter, about 11.8 × 10 in |
The knife wins on loaf size and storage. The guide wins on documented steps and a held loaf. The crank slicer wins on thin slices and a stepless setting; how much each thickness range covers is compared on adjustable bread slicers.
What to check before you buy
- Thinnest setting. All knife guides we found start at 1/2 inch. If you want thinner slices, see the crank slicers.
- Blade length against your loaf. A 10-inch blade crosses most loaves; measure the width of your widest boule.
- Left or right hand. Only some listings name a reversible blade or handle.
- Care. Wood handles and frames are usually hand-wash only; the TUIKEN listing says so explicitly.
- Blade replacement. The MonteHerra listing names a thumb screw for blade changes; for the others, the listing does not say.
Typical mistakes
- Expecting a guide to hold the loaf. A guide on the knife sets the distance, not the angle; tilt the knife and the slice wedges.
- Buying for thin slices. 1/2 inch is the minimum here.
- Using a short knife in a frame guide. If you choose the guide route, the blade must reach across the loaf inside the frame. Knives for crusty loaves are covered on bread knives for sourdough.
Our recommendation
If your loaves are pan loaves, the documented route is the Akebono PS-955 with a long serrated knife: known steps, a known loaf limit and a frame that holds the bread. If you bake wide boules and want one fixed thickness, a knife with a clip-on guide such as the MonteHerra is the practical choice, with the caveat that its data come from the listing. If you slice often and want thin, even slices, compare guide and crank on guide or hand-crank slicer. A motor without a fence is covered on electric knife for bread, and our method under how we compare.
Questions readers ask
Does a bread knife with a guide really give even slices?
It helps, because the guide rests against the cut face of the loaf and sets the distance to the blade. How even the slices are still depends on keeping the knife upright; a frame that holds the loaf on both sides, like a slicing guide, controls the angle better. No independent measurement of these knives was available to us.
What thickness settings do adjustable bread knives offer?
According to their listings, the MonteHerra knife has two magnetic guides for 1/2 inch and 1 inch, and the Ruansion knife a dial from 1/2 to 1.75 inches. The TUIKEN bow knife has a guide frame without stated settings. None goes thinner than 1/2 inch, so thin sandwich slices need a crank slicer or a guide with a 10 mm step.
Is a bread knife with a guide good for left-handed users?
Some are built for both hands, according to their listings: the Ruansion handle mounts on either side, and the TUIKEN blade can be reversed with two screws. The MonteHerra listing does not mention left-handed use. A separate slicing guide works with any bread knife, including a left-handed one.
What is a bread slicer with a knife?
Usually a slicing guide that ships with a knife, such as the Bambüsi bamboo guide, or a knife with its own guide attached. The Bambüsi is documented on its maker's product page; the knives with an attached guide are seller data only on this site. The alternative is a guide plus a knife you choose yourself – for example the Akebono PS-955 with a 10-inch serrated knife such as the Mercer Millennia.
Sources we read
Keep reading
- Buying guideBread slicing guidesBread slicing guides compared by spec sheet: thickness steps, loaf size, knife or no knife, plastic or bamboo – and when a guide is the wrong tool for your loaf.
- ComparisonGuide vs. hand crankBread slicing guide or hand-crank slicer? How loaf width, height, how often you slice, storage and price class decide – compared by spec sheet, not by opinion.
- Buying guideSourdough bread knifeWhich sourdough bread knife cuts a crusty boule cleanly? Blade length, serrated edges and bow knives explained, with our pick and the alternatives compared by spec.
- Buying guideBamboo bread slicersBamboo and wooden bread slicers compared by listing and maker data: loaf height and width, slice steps, knife included or not, crumb tray, folding and care.
- Buying guideAdjustable slicersAdjustable bread slicers compared by thickness range: stepless crank slicers, fixed-step guides and food slicers – thinnest and thickest slice in mm and inches.
Who compares here
manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team
Bread slicer comparisons & explainers
We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.
- Spec sheets & manuals compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint