Buying guide
Bamboo and Wooden Bread Slicers: Guides With Crumb Trays and Knife Slots Compared
A bamboo bread slicer is a slicing guide made of bamboo: a board with side walls or slots that keep your bread knife straight, often with a crumb tray and sometimes with a knife. The Bambüsi guide is the best documented here and comes with a knife, but its listing limits loaves to about 5 inches tall; the Albert & Grace guide takes taller loaves with 6.1-inch guides.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
Bamboo bread slicers are slicing guides, not machines. Pick one by loaf size first: the Bambüsi (knife, crumb tray, three slots from 1/4 to 1/2 inch) takes loaves up to about 5.5 inches wide and 5 inches tall per its listing; the Albert & Grace has 6.1-inch guides and widths up to 5.9 inches. None of the bamboo guides has a full spec sheet. Hand wash, never soak.

What a bamboo bread slicer is
Despite the name, a bamboo bread slicer has no blade of its own. It is a bread slicing guide built from bamboo: a base board, two side walls or slotted rails, and often a crumb tray underneath. You place the loaf between the walls, set the knife in a slot and saw through. The walls keep the knife vertical, so the slices come out the same thickness.
Searches for a “wooden bread slicer” or a “bread slicer board” mean the same thing in most cases. The other wooden device is the hand-crank slicer with a wooden base – the Zassenhaus Classic stands on a beechwood board – which is a machine and covered on hand-crank slicers.
Why bamboo? It looks like a cutting board, it is heavier than plastic, so the guide moves less, and it pairs well with a crumb tray that doubles as a serving board. The trade-offs: bamboo is hand-wash only, and the listings we read give fewer numbers than the best plastic guide.
The deciding numbers: loaf height and width
A guide only works if the loaf fits between its walls and below the top of its slots. These are the limits the listings state:
| Guide | Material | Max loaf width | Guide height or max loaf height | Slice steps | Knife |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bambüsi BAM-FBS | Moso bamboo | about 5.5 in (listing) | loaves up to 5 in tall (listing) | 3 slots: 1/4, 3/8, 1/2 in (listing) | included |
| Albert & Grace BS M1 | Cross-laminated Moso bamboo | 3.3, 4.6 or 5.9 in (listing) | 6.1 in guides (listing) | 2 thicknesses (listing) | sold separately |
| Joothlin | Bamboo | adjustable, limit not stated | not stated | not stated | not included |
| JUMEIHUI (for contrast) | Plastic, metal rails | 3.1 to 6.7 in (listing) | not stated | 1/4, 1/3, 1/2, 2/3 in (listing) | not included |
| Akebono PS-955 (for contrast) | Plastic | 5.5 in (140 mm) | 7.9 in (200 mm) | 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 mm | not included |
Only the Akebono row comes from a retailer spec sheet; all bamboo rows are listing data. A sandwich loaf from King Arthur Baking's recipe is baked in an 8 1/2 × 4 1/2-inch pan, so its width fits most of these guides – but the domed top can rise above a 5-inch limit. Measure the baked loaf, not the pan.
The bamboo guides one by one
Bambüsi: bamboo guide with knife
The brand and its other guides are covered on Bambüsi bread slicers.
Bambüsi bamboo guide with knife
A foldable Moso bamboo slicing guide with a stainless bread knife and a crumb tray in the box (manufacturer).
Why here: The bamboo guide with the most data – a maker's product page plus a detailed listing – and a bread knife and crumb tray in the box.
Best for: Anyone who has no good bread knife yet and wants guide and knife in one box.
Strengths
- Stainless steel bread knife and crumb tray included, magnetic knife storage (manufacturer)
- Folds flat for storage, no assembly (manufacturer)
- Budget price class
Weaknesses
- Three slice settings, but Bambüsi gives no widths in inches or millimeters; the widths come from the listing
- No maximum loaf size on the manufacturer page; hand care only – wipe, dry, do not soak
- Type
- Foldable bamboo slicing guide with knife
- Blade
- stainless steel bread knife included (manufacturer)
- Slice thickness
- 3 settings (manufacturer), 1/4–1/2 in (listing)
- Size
- 12.5 × 9.5 × 2.5 in (manufacturer)
Price class: Budget
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more AdBambüsi's own product page lists the item number BAM-FBS, Moso bamboo, a stainless steel bread knife and a crumb tray in the box, three slice settings, a body that folds flat and magnetic knife storage, at 12.5 × 9.5 × 2.5 inches. The Amazon listing adds the numbers: slots at 0.25, 0.38 and 0.5 inch, loaves up to 5.5 inches wide and 5 inches tall, and a 13-inch knife with an 8-inch serrated blade. It gives other dimensions (13.5 × 8.75 × 5.5 inches, 2.9 lb) than the maker's page, so treat the size as approximate.
Strengths: knife and crumb tray included, folds flat, the thinnest slot is 1/4 inch. Weaknesses: the 5-inch height limit is low for tall loaves, the thickest slot is 1/2 inch, and an 8-inch blade is shorter than the 9-inch minimum America's Test Kitchen recommends for bread knives. Care per Bambüsi: wipe with a damp cloth, dry thoroughly, avoid soaking.
Albert & Grace: taller guides, three widths
The Albert & Grace guide is listed with 6.1-inch-high guides, three width settings (5.9, 4.6 and 3.3 inches) and two slice thicknesses, in cross-laminated Moso bamboo. It folds down to about 2.1 inches thick and weighs about 3 lb per the listing. The seller recommends a 10 to 12 inch serrated knife, sold separately.
Strengths: the tallest guides among the bamboo models, the widest setting for larger loaves, folds flat. Weaknesses: no knife, only two thicknesses, hand wash only.
Joothlin: bamboo guide with storage tray
The Joothlin guide is a bamboo board with adjustable-width guide rails that store inside the crumb tray, according to its listing. It names no slice steps and no loaf limits, and at 6.5 lb it is heavy for a guide. It is an option if you want everything in one tray, not a pick.
Albert & Grace
Albert & Grace bamboo guide
An adjustable bamboo slicing guide whose side guides fold down (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Buyers who want a bamboo guide that folds flatter for storage.
Joothlin
Joothlin bamboo guide
A bamboo slicing guide with adjustable width whose guide rails store inside the crumb tray (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Buyers who want an all-bamboo guide with a tray that holds the loose parts.
Bambüsi
Bambüsi bamboo guide with knife
A foldable Moso bamboo slicing guide with a stainless bread knife and a crumb tray in the box (manufacturer).
Best for: Anyone who has no good bread knife yet and wants guide and knife in one box.
Not bamboo, but worth a look
Wooden boards with a crumb catcher and a slicing function are compared on bread boards with crumb catcher.
If a crumb tray and dishwasher care matter more than the wood look, the JUMEIHUI guide is plastic with metal guide rails, two pairs of swappable guides for four thicknesses and a width range of 3.1 to 6.7 inches, according to its listing, which also calls it dishwasher safe. The stainless steel foldable guide sits on a wooden frame with metal rails. And if documented limits matter most, the plastic Akebono PS-955* is the only guide here with a published loaf size.
JUMEIHUI
Plastic guide with crumb tray
A plastic slicing guide with metal guide rails, swappable thickness guides and a crumb tray that stores the parts (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Anyone who wants a crumb tray and a dishwasher-safe guide and does not insist on bamboo.
Unbranded
Steel foldable guide
A foldable slicing guide with stainless steel guides on a wooden structure (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Buyers who prefer metal guide rails over plastic and want to fold the guide away.
Akebono (Wahei Freiz)
Akebono PS-955 guide
A compact Japanese slicing guide with five fixed thicknesses and a crumb tray – you bring your own bread knife.
Best for: Sandwich and pan loaves up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide, sliced with your own bread knife.
Which one fits your loaf?
Which slicer fits you?
If you have no long bread knife yet and bake pan loaves → Bambüsi bamboo guide with knife
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf your loaves are taller or wider than about 5 inches → Albert & Grace bamboo guide · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want published loaf limits more than bamboo → Akebono PS-955 guide
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf your loaves are wide sourdough rounds
If you storage is your main concern
How to choose a bamboo bread slicer
- Measure the loaf after cooling: width at the widest point, height at the top of the dome. Compare with the table above.
- Check the slice steps. Fixed slots are fine if one matches your usual slice. Bamboo guides here top out at 1/2 inch (Bambüsi) or list only two thicknesses (Albert & Grace).
- Knife or no knife. If you buy a guide without one, use a serrated knife that is longer than the loaf is wide; America's Test Kitchen recommends at least 9 inches. Knives that clip onto a guide are covered in bread knife with guide.
- Folding and storage. Bambüsi and Albert & Grace fold flat; the Joothlin keeps its parts in the tray.
- Care. Bamboo is hand wash only. Bambüsi warns against soaking and prolonged contact with standing water.
Typical mistakes
- Buying for looks, not for loaf height. A 5-inch limit leaves the top of a domed loaf unguided.
- Putting bamboo in the dishwasher or soaking it. The makers and sellers say hand wash only.
- Using a short knife. A blade that does not reach across the loaf has to be pushed, which crushes the crumb.
- Slicing warm bread. King Arthur Baking says to let the bread cool completely before slicing; no guide fixes torn crumb.
The technique itself – cooling, knife, light strokes – is explained step by step in how to slice homemade bread.
Guide or crank slicer?
A bamboo guide suits pan loaves and a baking rhythm of about one loaf a week. For wide crusty rounds, very thin slices or several loaves a week, a crank slicer is the better tool; the trade-offs are on guide or hand-crank slicer and on sourdough bread slicers. For homemade loaves in general, see bread slicer for homemade bread.
Find your slicer
Slicer finder
Question 1 of 4
What do you want to slice?
Cheese and cured sausage need a carriage – a bread-only crank slicer has none.
Our recommendation
If you want bamboo, our pick is the Bambüsi: it is the only bamboo guide here with a maker's product page (item BAM-FBS, with materials, box contents, size and care) and the only one with a knife and crumb tray in the box. Its slot widths and loaf limits come from the listing, so it suits you as long as your loaves stay below about 5 inches tall. For taller or wider loaves, the Albert & Grace guide with its 6.1-inch guides fits better, with your own long knife. If you care more about published limits than about the material, take the plastic Akebono PS-955. All guides are compared on the bread slicing guide page, crank slicers and guides together in our comparison of manual bread slicers, and our method is explained under how we compare.
Questions readers ask
Are bamboo bread slicers better than plastic ones?
Not by default. Bamboo looks warmer, feels heavier and often comes with a knife slot or crumb tray, but it needs hand washing and must not soak. Plastic guides are lighter and some are dishwasher safe. What matters more is the loaf limit: the plastic Akebono PS-955 is the only guide in our comparison with a published maximum loaf size.
How do you clean a bamboo bread slicer?
By hand. Bambüsi advises wiping the slicer with a damp cloth, drying it thoroughly and avoiding soaking or prolonged contact with standing water. The Albert & Grace and Joothlin listings also say hand wash only. Brush crumbs out of the slots before wiping, and let the board dry standing so both sides get air.
Does a bamboo bread slicer come with a knife?
Some do. Bambüsi lists a stainless steel bread knife and a crumb tray in the box, with magnetic knife storage on the slicer. Albert & Grace sells its knife separately and recommends a 10 to 12 inch serrated bread knife. If you already own a long serrated knife, a guide without one is enough.
Will a sourdough boule fit a bamboo slicer?
Often not. The Bambüsi listing names loaves up to about 5.5 inches wide and 5 inches tall, which is small for a round boule. The Albert & Grace guide goes up to 5.9 inches wide with 6.1-inch guides. Measure your loaf at its widest and tallest point; for wide crusty rounds a hand-crank slicer is usually the safer choice.
Sources we read
- Bambüsi: Bamboo Foldable Bread Slicer with Knife (product page)
- Globalkitchen Japan: Akebono bread slicer PS-955 (technical data)
- America's Test Kitchen: How to slice bread (knife length, technique)
- King Arthur Baking: White Sandwich Bread recipe (pan size, cooling)
- Culinaris: Zassenhaus Bread slicing machine Classic (technical data)
Keep reading
- Buying guideBread slicing guidesBread slicing guides compared by spec sheet: thickness steps, loaf size, knife or no knife, plastic or bamboo – and when a guide is the wrong tool for your loaf.
- Buying guideFoldable slicersFoldable bread slicers compared: folding hand-crank slicers and collapsible slicing guides – what folds, what the listings leave out and what fits a drawer.
- Buying guideHomemade breadWhich bread slicer fits homemade bread? Crank slicer or slicing guide, matched to your loaf size, slice thickness and baking rhythm – compared by spec sheet.
- ComparisonGuide vs. hand crankBread slicing guide or hand-crank slicer? How loaf width, height, how often you slice, storage and price class decide – compared by spec sheet, not by opinion.
- Buying guideKnives with slicing guideBread knife with slicing guide: clip-on guides, dial-set knives and bow knives with a frame – what listings promise, what is missing, and a documented alternative.
Who compares here
manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team
Bread slicer comparisons & explainers
We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.
- Spec sheets & manuals compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint