Skip to content
Manual BreadSlicer
Menu

Buying guide

Bread Bow Knife: How the Wooden Bow Saw Works on Sourdough

A bread bow knife holds a thin serrated blade between the two ends of a curved wooden frame, so it works like a small bow saw: you saw through the loaf while the frame keeps the blade straight. Every bow knife we found on Amazon publishes listing data only. If you want documented steel and care rules, a long serrated bread knife such as the Mercer Millennia 10-inch is the safer buy.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 5 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

A bow knife is a serrated blade held in a wooden bow, used like a saw on crusty loaves. On Amazon you find three kinds: plain bow knives, bow knives with printed thickness marks, and bow knives sold as adjustable. None of the listings we read states blade steel, exact blade length and handedness. Our pick for crusty sourdough remains the Mercer Millennia 10-inch wavy-edge knife.

What's on this page

Bow knives are marketed squarely at sourdough bakers, and they look like a tool made for one job: a curved wooden frame with a serrated blade stretched between its ends. It is still a knife – no fence, no crank – and on Amazon it is sold almost entirely by brands without a spec sheet. This page explains how it works, what the listings promise and when another tool is the better buy.

How a bow knife works

A regular bread knife has a handle at one end and a free tip. A bow knife fixes the blade at both ends of a curved frame. You hold the frame, set the blade on the crust and saw back and forth. Because the blade is held at both ends, it can be thin and still stay straight through the loaf. The frame also sets how tall a loaf can be: the gap between blade and bow has to clear the top of the bread.

Two things do not change: the teeth still do the cutting, and the slice thickness depends on how straight you guide the knife. That is why some bow knives add thickness marks or a guide.

Our pick: a documented bread knife

Mercer Culinary

Mercer Millennia 10" bread knife

A 10-inch wavy-edge bread knife from a foodservice cutlery maker – the tool every slicing guide needs.

Why here: A documented alternative to the bow knife: 10-inch wavy edge for tough crusts, high-carbon Japanese steel, limited lifetime warranty.

Best for: Anyone who slices with a guide or freehand and needs a long serrated knife for crusty loaves and bagels on a board.

Strengths

  • 10 in (25.4 cm) blade of one-piece high-carbon Japanese steel, 15° edge, HRC 53–54 (manufacturer)
  • Wavy edge meant to get through a tough crust without tearing the soft crumb (manufacturer)
  • Santoprene handle with finger guard, NSF certified, limited lifetime warranty (manufacturer)

Weaknesses

  • Hand wash only – Mercer says cutlery should never go in a dishwasher
  • No fence: slice thickness depends on your hand unless you add a guide
Type
Serrated (wavy edge) bread knife
Blade
10 in (25.4 cm), high-carbon Japanese steel, 15° edge, HRC 53–54
Slice thickness
freehand – set by your hand or a slicing guide

Price class: Budget

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonAd

We could not make a bow knife our pick, because no listing we read states the blade steel, the hardness and the care rules. Mercer does: the Millennia wide bread knife has a 10-inch (25.4 cm) blade of one-piece high-carbon Japanese steel with a 15° edge and HRC 53–54, a wavy edge with teeth meant to get through tough crusts, a Santoprene handle with finger guard, NSF certification and a limited lifetime warranty. Mercer advises hand washing and no dishwasher. Ten inches covers most batards and halved boules, as explained on the best bread knife for sourdough.

Which bow knife fits you?

Which slicer fits you?

The bow knives compared

Comparison: SYOKAMI bow knife, Woodever adjustable bow knife, RAPSAKEMOH bow knife, 14.5-inch bow knife, TUIKEN knife with guide frame
ComparisonSeller data onlySYOKAMI bow knifeSeller data onlyWoodever adjustable bow knifeSeller data onlyRAPSAKEMOH bow knifeSeller data only14.5-inch bow knifeSeller data onlyTUIKEN knife with guide frame
TypeBow knife with thickness scale marks (listing)Bow knife, sold as adjustable (listing)Bow knife (listing)Bow knife (listing)Bow-style bread knife with attached guide frame
Bladeserrated, length and steel not confirmedserrated stainless steel (listing), length not confirmed15.7 in overall (listing), steel not stated14.5 in overall (listing), steel not statedabout 10.8 in, 304 stainless steel, serrated (listing)
Slice thicknessfreehand, 4 scale marks (listing)adjustable (range not stated in the title)freehandfreehandadjustable (settings not stated)
Loaf size–––––
Size–––––
Weight–––––
Carriage & holder–––––
Best forBakers who want a bow knife with printed thickness marks and accept listing data only.Buyers who want a wooden bow knife with some kind of thickness adjustment and accept listing data only.Sourdough bakers who want to try the bow design in the budget class.Buyers who want a bow knife in the budget class and accept listing data only.Buyers who want a wooden knife-and-guide in one piece and a blade cover for storage.
Price classBudgetBudgetBudgetBudgetBudget
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Specs from manufacturer sheets or retailer data; “(listing)” marks Amazon listing data. Swipe sideways on a phone.

Plain bow knives

The RAPSAKEMOH listing names a bow design and 15.7 inches and markets the knife for thin, even slices of sourdough and baguettes. A second, unbranded listing offers 14.5 inches with an ergonomic grip. Both lengths are overall lengths from the listings; blade length and steel are not stated. Budget class, seller data only.

Bow knife with thickness marks

The SYOKAMI listing calls its knife a bow design with four thickness scale marks and an offset handle, for crusty sourdough and baguettes. The marks are a visual aid, not a stop. Blade length, steel and handedness are not confirmed. Budget class, seller data only.

Bow knives sold as adjustable

Woodever sells a natural beech bow knife with a serrated stainless blade as an “adjustable bread slicer”; the title does not explain what adjusts or over which range. The TUIKEN knife is a wooden bow-style knife with an attached guide frame and a 304 stainless serrated blade of about 10.8 inches, and its listing says the blade reverses for left-handed use. TUIKEN's thickness settings are not stated. Knives with a built-in guide are compared in more depth on bread knife with slicing guide.

What the listings leave out

QuestionWhat to look forWhat we found
Blade lengthBlade, not overall length, longer than your loaf is wideMostly overall lengths only
SteelNamed steel, ideally with hardnessNot stated, except “stainless” or “304 stainless”
HandednessA clear statement for left, right or bothOnly TUIKEN (reversible)
Loaf heightClearance between blade and bowNot stated
CareHand wash or dishwasher, wood careNot stated for most

For comparison: makers that document their knives do state such details. Tojiro, for example, lists its PRO bread slicer F-629 with a blade of about 215 mm, a VG10 core, an all-stainless body and use by right- and left-handed cooks. Handedness for bread tools is covered on bread knives and slicers for left-handed cooks.

Bow knife, guide or slicer?

A bow knife is still freehand. If you want each slice the same, a slicing guide holds your knife at a fixed step: the Akebono PS-955 offers 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm for loaves up to 200 mm high and 140 mm wide, and it comes without a knife. A hand-crank slicer brings its own blade and fence. How knives, bow knives, guides and slicers compare is on bread slicing tools compared, and the technique for crusty loaves on how to slice sourdough.

Typical mistakes

  • Buying by overall length. A 15-inch bow knife may have a much shorter cutting edge. Ask the seller for the blade length.
  • Expecting the marks to work like a fence. They do not stop the blade.
  • Pressing down. Like any serrated knife, a bow knife cuts best with light, long strokes.
  • Ignoring care. With no care rules in the listing, treat a wooden frame and a carbon or unnamed steel blade gently: hand wash and dry.

Our recommendation

If you like the bow shape, any of the budget bow knives is a low-risk experiment – pick the SYOKAMI for printed marks or the TUIKEN if you need a reversible blade. If you want one knife that you can rely on for years of crusty sourdough, buy the documented Mercer Millennia 10-inch wavy-edge knife instead.

Mercer Culinary

Mercer Millennia 10" bread knife

A 10-inch wavy-edge bread knife from a foodservice cutlery maker – the tool every slicing guide needs.

Why here: Our pick for crusty loaves: documented steel, edge and warranty in the budget price class.

Best for: Anyone who slices with a guide or freehand and needs a long serrated knife for crusty loaves and bagels on a board.

Strengths

  • 10 in (25.4 cm) blade of one-piece high-carbon Japanese steel, 15° edge, HRC 53–54 (manufacturer)
  • Wavy edge meant to get through a tough crust without tearing the soft crumb (manufacturer)
  • Santoprene handle with finger guard, NSF certified, limited lifetime warranty (manufacturer)

Weaknesses

  • Hand wash only – Mercer says cutlery should never go in a dishwasher
  • No fence: slice thickness depends on your hand unless you add a guide
Type
Serrated (wavy edge) bread knife
Blade
10 in (25.4 cm), high-carbon Japanese steel, 15° edge, HRC 53–54
Slice thickness
freehand – set by your hand or a slicing guide

Price class: Budget

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonAd

Questions readers ask

What is a bread bow knife?

A bread knife whose serrated blade is fixed between the two ends of a curved frame, usually wood. The shape resembles a bow or a bow saw. You hold the frame and saw through the loaf; the blade stays straight because the frame holds it at both ends. It is a hand tool, so slice thickness still depends on your hand unless the knife has a guide.

Is a bow knife better than a regular bread knife?

Not in any data we could find. The bow design keeps a thin blade straight, which sellers market for even slices. But the bow knives on Amazon do not publish steel, hardness or care rules. A documented serrated knife such as the Mercer Millennia states a 10-inch high-carbon steel blade with a 15° edge and a lifetime warranty.

Can left-handed people use a bow knife?

It depends on the model, and most listings do not say. Of the bow-style knives in our comparison, only the TUIKEN listing states that the blade can be reversed for left-handed use. If handedness matters, choose a model whose maker or seller says so, or a knife that is documented for both hands.

Do the thickness marks on a bow knife set the slice?

No. Printed scale marks, like the four on the SYOKAMI listing, help you judge thickness by eye, but there is no fence that stops the blade. For a fixed thickness you need a knife with a guide, a slicing guide or a hand-crank slicer.

Sources we read

Keep reading

Who compares here

manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team

Bread slicer comparisons & explainers

We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets & manuals compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare