Skip to content
Manual BreadSlicer
Menu

Model profile

Graef H9 Manual Slicer: The All-Metal Hand-Crank Slicer for Bread, Cheese and Cured Meat

The Graef H9 is an all-metal hand-crank slicer with a 7.5-inch (190 mm) serrated stainless blade, a stepless range of 0 to 15 mm (up to 0.6 in) and a removable stainless carriage with thumb guard. It is our pick for kitchens that slice bread and also cheese or cured sausage, because the end-piece holder comes in the box. Its limits: no thick toast slices, a large footprint and the premium price class.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 5 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

The Graef H9 manual slicer has a 190 mm (7.5-inch) serrated stainless blade, slices steplessly from 0 to 15 mm, and comes with a stainless carriage, thumb guard and end-piece holder. It measures 14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 inches, weighs 6.2 lb and is made at Graef's plant in Arnsberg, Germany, per the manufacturer. Choose it for bread plus cold cuts; for thick slices, look elsewhere.

What's on this page

Verdict in short

The Graef H9 is the hand-crank slicer for kitchens where the board holds more than bread. Its carriage carries the food past the blade, a thumb guard sits on the carriage, and the end-piece holder is in the box – the best-documented finger protection among the manual slicers we compare. The price is a thin maximum slice of 15 mm, a footprint the size of a large cutting board and the premium price class. For bread alone, the Zassenhaus Classic is smaller and slices thicker.

Our pick: bread, cheese & cured meatGraef

Graef H9

All-metal hand-crank slicer with a stainless carriage, thumb guard and end-piece holder.

Why here: Our pick for bread plus cheese and cured meat: carriage, thumb guard and end-piece holder included.

Best for: Kitchens that slice bread and also firm cheese or cured sausage without electricity.

Strengths

  • Removable stainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder included
  • 7.5-inch (190 mm) serrated stainless blade, slice length 150 mm (about 5.9 in)
  • Made at the Graef plant in Arnsberg, Germany, according to the manufacturer

Weaknesses

  • Large footprint: 14.8 × 14.4 in (375 × 365 mm)
  • Slices only up to 15 mm (0.6 in) – no thick toast slices
  • Premium price class
Type
Hand-crank food slicer with carriage
Blade
7.5 in (190 mm) serrated stainless steel
Slice thickness
0–15 mm stepless (up to 0.6 in)
Size
14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 in (375 × 365 × 245 mm)
Weight
6.2 lb (2.8 kg)
Carriage & holder
Stainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder included

Price class: Premium

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more Ad

Who it suits – and who not

Reasons to buy

  • Carriage with thumb guard and end-piece holder in the box
  • 190 mm (7.5 in) serrated stainless blade, slice length 150 mm
  • All-metal body, wooden crank handle, four suction feet
  • Made at Graef's Arnsberg plant, per the manufacturer
  • No motor, no cord – works anywhere on the counter

Reasons to skip

  • Thickest slice 15 mm (0.6 in) – no thick toast
  • Large: 14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 in (375 × 365 × 245 mm)
  • Premium price class
  • Graef states no separate maximum loaf height

Buy it if you slice bread several times a week and also want thin cheese, ham or salami, and you have counter or cupboard space for it.

Skip it if you want slices thicker than 0.6 inch, have little space, or slice only bread – then a bread-only crank slicer or a bread slicing guide fits better.

Technical data

SpecGraef H9 (article H9EU)
TypeManual all-purpose slicer with hand crank, no motor
BladeØ 190 mm (7.5 in), stainless steel, serrated
Slice thickness0–15 mm, stepless (up to 0.6 in), dial at the fence
Slice length150 mm (about 5.9 in)
CarriageStainless, removable, with thumb guard
End-piece holderIncluded
BodyFull metal; wooden crank handle; materials listed as metal, wood, aluminum, stainless steel
FeetFour suction rubber feet
Size (L × W × H)375 × 365 × 245 mm (14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 in)
Weight2.8 kg net (6.2 lb)
MadeArnsberg, Germany (“Handmade in Germany”, per Graef)
Price classPremium

Source: Graef product page and manual, read 22 October 2026. Graef gives no separate maximum loaf height; the 150 mm slice length is the closest figure to check against a tall loaf.

Comparison: Graef H9, Zassenhaus Classic, ritter manus 3
ComparisonOur pick: bread, cheese & cured meatGraef H9Our pick: hand-crank slicerZassenhaus Classicritter manus 3
TypeHand-crank food slicer with carriageHand-crank slicer for breadHand-crank food slicer with carriage
Blade7.5 in (190 mm) serrated stainless steelRound serrated stainless blade, made in Solingen (diameter not stated)6.7 in (17 cm) serrated
Slice thickness0–15 mm stepless (up to 0.6 in)1–18 mm stepless (about 1/25–0.7 in)up to about 20 mm (0.8 in), stepless
Loaf size–––
Size14.8 × 14.4 × 9.6 in (375 × 365 × 245 mm)11.8 × 10 × 7.5 in (30 × 25.5 × 19 cm)14.4 × 13.2 × 9.8 in (36.5 × 33.5 × 25 cm)
Weight6.2 lb (2.8 kg)5.3 lb (2.4 kg)7.3 lb (3.3 kg)
Carriage & holderStainless carriage with thumb guard, end-piece holder includedBeechwood base, no carriage or end-piece holder listedStainless carriage; end-piece holder as accessory
Best forKitchens that slice bread and also firm cheese or cured sausage without electricity.Households that mostly slice bread and want a brand crank slicer with documented specs and a compact footprint.Anyone who wants a carriage slicer with a wider thickness range than the Graef H9.
Price classPremiumPremiumPremium
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Specs from manufacturer sheets or retailer data; “(listing)” marks Amazon listing data. Swipe sideways on a phone.

In daily use

Setting up. Graef's manual asks for a firm, flat, level, non-slip base and a spot where children cannot reach the blade. It says the slicer may not be used by children.

Slicing. Put the carriage on its guide profile, place the food on the carriage, set the thickness and turn the crank away from your body while pushing the food forward. The manual adds that soft food slices better when you turn faster and push more slowly. For crusty sourdough, that is the same advice the Zassenhaus manual gives; the technique for round loaves is on the sourdough bread slicer page.

The last piece. The manual is strict here: the slicer must be used with the carriage and food holder unless the size and shape of the food do not allow it, and the holder must go on as soon as the food can no longer be held safely. That is the part a bread-only slicer without carriage leaves to your fingers.

Cleaning. Wipe the outside with a soft, moist cloth, with a mild detergent if needed; no aggressive cleaners, no solvents, no dishwasher. Occasionally take the blade off – remove the carriage, turn the blade loose, for example with a coin – clean it with a moist and then a dry cloth, grease the gear and tighten it firmly again. The carriage guide gets a little acid-free sewing-machine oil from time to time.

Service, warranty and spare parts

The manual gives a two-year manufacturer warranty from the date of purchase for manufacturing and material defects; it is written for Graef's home market, and how it applies to a purchase in the US is not stated. Repairs during the warranty belong with Graef customer service, and defective parts may only be replaced with genuine spare parts. The H9 product page lists no spare blade, so ask Graef service for one. What a dull blade looks like and how other brands handle spares is on bread slicer replacement blades.

What we could not check

We do not test slicers. We found no independent lab test of the H9, and we do not quote star ratings. How the H9 handles a very tall loaf is not documented beyond the 150 mm slice length. Our method is explained under how we compare.

Alternatives

  • Zassenhaus Classic – for bread only: stepless 1–18 mm, much smaller footprint, but no carriage or end-piece holder listed.
  • ritter manus 3 – also made in Germany with a carriage, slices up to about 20 mm (0.8 in), heavier at 7.3 lb; the end-piece holder is an accessory.
  • Cuisinart Kitchen Pro FS-75 – an electric food slicer up to 1/2 inch if you want a motor; covered on the electric bread slicer page.

How crank slicers with a carriage compare as a group is on manual food slicers.

How the German-made slicers compare as a group is on the German bread slicer page, and all models side by side are in our comparison of manual bread slicers. You can find the H9 as Graef H9 on Amazon*.

Questions readers ask

Is the Graef H9 good for bread?

Yes, within its range. Graef builds it as an all-purpose slicer, and its 190 mm serrated stainless blade is meant for bread as well as cheese and cured meat. It slices steplessly from 0 to 15 mm (up to 0.6 in). That covers sandwich slices and thin cuts; thick toast or French-toast slices are beyond it.

Where is the Graef H9 made?

Graef advertises the H9 as “Handmade in Germany” and states that development, production, shipping and repair take place at its main plant in Arnsberg. The manual carries the line “Seit 1920” (since 1920) on its last page.

Does the Graef H9 come with an end-piece holder?

Yes. Graef lists the slicer, the end-piece holder (food holder) and the manual as the scope of delivery. The manual says the slicer must be used with the carriage and the food holder unless the size and shape of the food do not allow it, and that the holder must be used as soon as the food can no longer be held safely.

Can I get a replacement blade for the Graef H9?

Graef's manual says defective components may only be replaced with genuine spare parts and that repairs belong with a specialist or Graef customer service. The H9 product page itself lists no spare blade, so contact Graef service or the dealer with the article number H9EU.

Sources we read

Keep reading

Who compares here

manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team

Bread slicer comparisons & explainers

We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets & manuals compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare