Skip to content
Manual BreadSlicer
Menu

Buying guide

Bread Board With Crumb Catcher: Slicing Guides With Trays and Drawers Compared

A bread cutter board with a crumb catcher is a slicing guide that sits on a tray: the walls keep your knife straight, the tray below collects the crumbs. Our pick is the Akebono PS-955, the only one with a full spec sheet – five fixed thicknesses, a removable crumb catcher and a stated loaf limit of about 7.9 × 5.5 inches. The bamboo and plastic alternatives list a tray, but no loaf size.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 7 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

Pick a crumb-catcher board by loaf size first, then by care. The Akebono PS-955 has a removable crumb catcher, five steps from 10 to 30 mm and a documented limit of 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide; you bring the knife. Bamboo boards such as the Durvon add a knife drawer, plastic ones such as the JUMEIHUI or ZQZXD are listed as dishwasher safe – both without stated loaf limits.

What's on this page
Overhead view of a halved country loaf, three slices and a plain serrated bread knife on a wooden board
Photo: AI-generated (OpenAI)

What you are buying

Search for a “bread cutter board” and you get the same device in three versions: a slicing guide sitting on a board or tray. The loaf goes between two walls, your bread knife runs in a slot, and the crumbs fall into the tray instead of onto the counter. There is no blade in the board – the cutting is still done by your knife. How guides work in general, and why loaf size is the deciding number, is explained on the bread slicing guide page; this page is about the tray, the drawer and the boards that have them.

The three versions:

  • Guide with a removable crumb catcher – a plastic frame on a shallow tray that you pull out and empty (Akebono, Norpro).
  • Bamboo board with tray or drawer – heavier, looks like a cutting board, sometimes with a drawer for the knife (Durvon, Bambüsi).
  • Foldable plastic guide on a tray – adjustable walls that fold down, often listed as dishwasher safe (JUMEIHUI, ZQZXD, Kiss Core, CAWIU).

Our pick: Akebono PS-955

Our pick: slicing guideAkebono (Wahei Freiz)

Akebono PS-955 guide

A compact Japanese slicing guide with five fixed thicknesses and a crumb tray – you bring your own bread knife.

Why here: The only crumb-catcher board here whose maker publishes slice steps, loaf limit, size, weight and materials.

Best for: Sandwich and pan loaves up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide, sliced with your own bread knife.

Strengths

  • Five settings: 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm (about 0.4 to 1.2 in)
  • Light: about 13 oz (374 g), 9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in – fits a drawer
  • Removable crumb tray, made in Tsubame, Japan

Weaknesses

  • No knife included
  • Loaf up to about 7.9 in high and 5.5 in wide – too narrow for most round boules
  • Hand wash only; plastic parts heat-resistant to 70–120 °C (158–248 °F) per part
Type
Slicing guide for a bread knife
Blade
none – bread knife sold separately
Slice thickness
10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 30 mm (about 0.4–1.2 in)
Loaf size
up to 7.9 in high × 5.5 in wide (200 × 140 mm)
Size
9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in (235 × 159 × 69 mm)
Weight
about 13 oz (374 g)

Price class: Budget

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more Ad

The Akebono PS-955 is made in Tsubame, Niigata, Japan. According to Globalkitchen Japan it slices at five fixed thicknesses – 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm (about 0.4 to 1.2 in) – and takes loaves up to 200 mm tall and 140 mm wide (about 7.9 × 5.5 in). The guide measures 9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in and weighs about 13 oz. The crumb catcher is a removable tray; the retailer's wording is that it “eliminates the mess and makes clean up easy.” The tray and thickness board are ABS plastic, heat-resistant to about 80 °C; the whole guide is hand wash only. Knives are sold separately.

Strengths: published loaf limit, five clear steps, light enough for a drawer. Weaknesses: 5.5 inches is too narrow for most round boules, no knife, no dishwasher.

Comparison: boards and guides with a crumb tray

Comparison: Akebono PS-955 guide, Plastic guide with crumb tray, Durvon bamboo guide with drawer, ZQZXD foldable guide with tray
ComparisonOur pick: slicing guideAkebono PS-955 guideSeller data onlyPlastic guide with crumb traySeller data onlyDurvon bamboo guide with drawerSeller data onlyZQZXD foldable guide with tray
TypeSlicing guide for a bread knifePlastic slicing guide for a bread knifeBamboo slicing guide with crumb tray and knife drawerPlastic slicing guide for a bread knife
Bladenone – bread knife sold separately–none – drawer stores your bread knife (listing)–
Slice thickness10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 30 mm (about 0.4–1.2 in)1/4, 1/3, 1/2, 2/3 in with two guide pairs (listing)guide slots, steps not stated (listing)–
Loaf sizeup to 7.9 in high × 5.5 in wide (200 × 140 mm)3.1–6.7 in wide (listing), height not stated–adjustable length and width, limits not stated (listing)
Size9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in (235 × 159 × 69 mm)12.2 × 8.07 × 2.36 in (listing)13 × 5 × 0.75 in (listing)–
Weightabout 13 oz (374 g)–2.5 lb (listing)–
Carriage & holder–––Crumb-catching tray, folds (listing)
Best forSandwich and pan loaves up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide, sliced with your own bread knife.Anyone who wants a crumb tray and a dishwasher-safe guide and does not insist on bamboo.Buyers who want a bamboo board that catches crumbs and keeps the bread knife in the same piece.Anyone who wants a plastic guide with a tray that can go in the dishwasher.
Price classBudgetBudget––
On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonOn Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Specs from manufacturer sheets or retailer data; “(listing)” marks Amazon listing data. Swipe sideways on a phone.
BoardTray typeSlice stepsLoaf limitKnifeCare
Akebono PS-955removable crumb catcher10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 30 mm7.9 × 5.5 in (spec sheet)not includedhand wash
Norpro 370removable crumb catchernot statednot statednot statedwipe with a damp cloth
Durvon bamboocrumb tray plus knife drawernot statednot stateddrawer onlyhand wash (listing)
Bambüsi BAM-FBScrumb tray3 settingsnot stated by the makerincludedwipe, no soaking
JUMEIHUIcrumb tray that stores the parts1/4, 1/3, 1/2, 2/3 in (listing)3.1–6.7 in wide (listing)not includeddishwasher safe (listing)
ZQZXDcrumb-catching traynot statedadjustable length and width (listing)not stateddishwasher safe (listing)

Only the Akebono row comes from a full spec sheet. Norpro and Bambüsi publish product pages, but without loaf limits; everything else is listing data.

The alternatives one by one

Durvon: bamboo board with a knife drawer

The Durvon listing describes a natural bamboo board with a built-in crumb catch tray, an integrated drawer for storing a bread knife, foldable side panels and non-slip feet, at 2.5 lb. It is listed at 13 × 5 × 0.75 in and as hand wash only. What the listing does not give: the slice steps and the largest loaf. The drawer is storage – no knife is named among the included components.

JUMEIHUI: plastic guide with metal rails

The JUMEIHUI guide has the most numbers among the listing-only boards: two pairs of guides for 1/4, 1/3, 1/2 and 2/3 inch, a width range of 3.1 to 6.7 inches and a crumb tray that holds the loose parts. The height limit is not stated.

ZQZXD: foldable plastic guide, dishwasher safe

The ZQZXD guide is PP plastic, adjustable in both length and width, with a built-in crumb-catching tray, and the listing calls it foldable and dishwasher safe. It names no thickness steps, no size and no loaf limit.

The Bambüsi bamboo guide lists a stainless steel bread knife and a crumb tray in the box; it is covered in detail on bamboo bread slicers. The Kiss Core and CAWIU guides fold flat over their trays, the CAWIU into its own box; folding designs are compared on foldable bread slicers.

Durvon

Durvon bamboo guide with drawer

A bamboo slicing guide on a crumb tray with a drawer for storing a bread knife; the side panels fold down (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Buyers who want a bamboo board that catches crumbs and keeps the bread knife in the same piece.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

JUMEIHUI

Plastic guide with crumb tray

A plastic slicing guide with metal guide rails, swappable thickness guides and a crumb tray that stores the parts (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Anyone who wants a crumb tray and a dishwasher-safe guide and does not insist on bamboo.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

ZQZXD

ZQZXD foldable guide with tray

A white PP-plastic slicing guide, adjustable in length and width, on a crumb-catching tray that the seller calls dishwasher safe (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Anyone who wants a plastic guide with a tray that can go in the dishwasher.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
Our pick: bamboo guide with knife

Bambüsi

Bambüsi bamboo guide with knife

A foldable Moso bamboo slicing guide with a stainless bread knife and a crumb tray in the box (manufacturer).

Best for: Anyone who has no good bread knife yet and wants guide and knife in one box.

CAWIU

CAWIU guide with box

A foldable slicing guide with adjustable width, crumb tray and a box for storage (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Buyers who want a CAWIU guide that folds into its own box.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

Two more crumb-catcher boards have maker pages but are not in our Amazon data. Norpro lists its 370 Bread Slicer with Crumb Catcher with acrylic slicing guides, 12.38 × 6.25 × 1.75 in (12.38 × 6.75 × 6.5 in assembled) and 1.93 lb. Piklohas describes a wooden guide with a crumb catcher, three height options, a magnetic side for the knife and a lifetime warranty, without dimensions.

Which board fits you?

Which slicer fits you?

How to choose a board with a crumb catcher

  1. Loaf size comes first. A tray does not help if the loaf does not fit between the walls. Measure the cooled loaf at its widest and tallest point; tall pan loaves are covered on bread slicers for bread machine loaves.
  2. Removable tray or fixed base. A pull-out crumb catcher (Akebono, Norpro) is emptied without lifting the whole board. A fixed bamboo tray has to be tipped out.
  3. Knife storage or knife included. A drawer keeps your knife with the board; it does not supply one. If you need a knife, the Bambüsi is the only board here with one in the box.
  4. Care. Bamboo: hand wash or wipe, no soaking. Akebono: hand wash. Only some plastic guides are listed as dishwasher safe.
  5. Counter or cabinet. A bamboo board with a drawer is a counter piece. A light plastic guide folds or goes into a drawer.

Typical mistakes

  • Buying for the tray, not for the loaf. Most listings name a tray and no maximum loaf height.
  • Expecting a drawer to hold a knife out of the box. Check the included components.
  • Slicing warm bread. No guide prevents torn crumb on a loaf that has not cooled; technique is covered in how to slice homemade bread.

Board, bread box or crank slicer?

If the board should also store the loaf, a bread box with a slicer combines both. If your loaves are wide, crusty rounds or you want slices thinner than 10 mm, a crank slicer is the better tool: see hand-crank bread slicers.

Find your slicer

Slicer finder

Question 1 of 4

What do you want to slice?

Cheese and cured sausage need a carriage – a bread-only crank slicer has none.

Our recommendation

Take the Akebono PS-955 if your loaves are no wider than 5.5 inches: it is the only crumb-catcher board with published limits, and the removable tray is easy to empty. If you want bamboo and a place for the knife, the Durvon board is the option, with its fit unconfirmed. All guides are compared on the bread slicing guide page, guides and crank slicers together in our comparison of manual bread slicers, and the manual bread slicer overview explains both families.

Questions readers ask

What is a bread cutter board?

In most listings it is a slicing guide on a base board or tray: two side walls or slotted rails hold the loaf and keep a bread knife vertical, and a tray underneath catches crumbs. It has no blade of its own. Some bamboo versions add a drawer for the knife; a few come with a knife in the box.

Which bread slicer with a crumb tray takes the biggest loaf?

We cannot rank them, because only one maker publishes a limit. The Akebono PS-955 takes loaves up to 200 mm tall and 140 mm wide (about 7.9 × 5.5 in). The JUMEIHUI listing names a width range of 3.1 to 6.7 inches but no height. The other crumb-tray boards state neither, so measure your loaf and keep the packaging until the first loaf fits.

Can a bread board with crumb catcher go in the dishwasher?

It depends on the material. The Akebono PS-955 is hand wash only, Bambüsi and the Durvon listing say hand wash or wipe for bamboo, and Norpro says to empty the crumb catcher and wipe with a damp cloth. The JUMEIHUI and ZQZXD plastic guides are listed as dishwasher safe – a seller claim, not a maker's manual.

Does a crumb catcher board come with a knife?

Most do not. Globalkitchen Japan states that knives are sold separately for the Akebono, and the Durvon drawer is described as knife storage, not as a knife in the box. The Bambüsi bamboo guide is the exception: the maker lists a stainless steel bread knife and a crumb tray as included.

Sources we read

Keep reading

Who compares here

manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team

Bread slicer comparisons & explainers

We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets & manuals compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare