Buying guide
Bread Box With Slicer: Guide-and-Box Sets and Dust Covers for Hand-Crank Slicers
A bread box with slicer is a slicing guide that sits on, or folds into, a bread storage box – you cut with your own knife and keep the loaf in the box below. The sets on Amazon are budget plastic guides with listing data only; the Kiss Core set cuts one fixed thickness of 0.47 inch. If you own a hand-crank slicer instead, what you are looking for is a dust cover – and its size limit decides whether it fits.
Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more
The short version
Bread-box slicer sets combine a plastic slicing guide with a storage box: the Kiss Core set has a 9-liter box and one 0.47-inch slice width, the CAWIU set a 7.5-liter box and 0.48-inch slices, per their listings. All are seller data only. For a crank slicer, a dust cover is the counterpart; the CAWIU cover fits slicers up to 12 × 8.1 inches – too narrow for the Zassenhaus Classic.
Two different things behind one search
“Bread box with slicer” covers two products:
- Guide-and-box sets. A bread slicing guide – two walls that keep a bread knife straight – combined with a storage box. You slice on the box and keep the loaf inside. This is what the Kiss Core and CAWIU sets are.
- Covers for crank slicers. A hand-crank slicer has its own blade and usually stays on the counter. A dust cover goes over it. Some crank slicers come with one; for others, you buy it separately.
Neither turns a box into a slicing machine. All sets below have no blade of their own, so the knife still matters: America's Test Kitchen recommends a serrated knife of at least 9 inches and a gentle sawing motion with little downward pressure.
Which set for whom?
Which slicer fits you?
If you bake pan loaves and want one standard slice width plus storage → Kiss Core guide with bread box · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want to move slices into the box without touching them → Kiss Core pull-out guide with box · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want a smaller box with a bamboo lid → CAWIU guide with box · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you want several slice widths and published loaf limits → Akebono PS-955 guide
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonIf you own a compact crank slicer that needs a cover → CAWIU slicer dust cover · Seller data only
View(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon
The guide-and-box sets compared
| Comparison | Seller data onlyKiss Core guide with bread box | Seller data onlyKiss Core pull-out guide with box | Seller data onlyCAWIU guide with box |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Slicing guide with bread box | Slicing guide with pull-out board and bread box | Foldable slicing guide for a bread knife |
| Blade | – | – | – |
| Slice thickness | 0.47 in (1.2 cm), fixed (listing) | – | – |
| Loaf size | cutting area 12.8 × 7.87 × 3.94 in, six widths (listing) | – | adjustable width (listing) |
| Size | 14 × 9 × 6 in (listing) | 14 × 9 × 2 in (listing) | – |
| Weight | – | – | – |
| Carriage & holder | Crumb tray as box lid, 9 L box (listing) | Pull-out cutting board, 9 L clear box (listing) | – |
| Best for | Bakers of pan loaves who want guide and bread storage in one countertop set. | Buyers who want to move slices into the box without handling them. | Buyers who want a CAWIU guide that folds into its own box. |
| Price class | Budget | Budget | Budget |
| On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon | On Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon |
| Set | Box | Slice width | Guide limits | Material and care |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kiss Core with bread box | 9 L, crumb tray works as lid | 0.47 in (1.2 cm), fixed | Cutting area 12.8 × 7.87 × 3.94 in, 6 widths | PP plastic; listing says both dishwasher safe and hand wash only |
| Kiss Core pull-out with bread box | 9 L, clear | not stated | not stated | PP plastic, dishwasher safe per listing |
| CAWIU with box | 7.5 L, airtight, bamboo lid | 0.48 in, fixed | adjustable width, height not stated | PP guide dishwasher safe, box with bamboo lid hand wash |
All figures are listing data, read 22 October 2026. None of these sets comes with a knife.
Kiss Core with bread box
The Kiss Core set pairs an adjustable-width plastic guide with a 9-liter box; the crumb collector doubles as the box lid. The listing gives one standard slice of 0.47 inch (1.2 cm), cut through to the bottom of the loaf, six width settings for baguettes, small and large loaves, and a cutting area of 12.8 × 7.87 × 3.94 inches. That 3.94-inch height is the number to check: a domed sandwich loaf can be taller. The listing names a one-year manufacturer warranty.
Kiss Core guide with bread box
A plastic slicing guide on a 9-liter bread box whose crumb tray doubles as the lid (per listing).
Seller data only: We only have the Amazon listing for this product. We list it as an option, not as a recommendation.
Why here: The most detailed guide-and-box listing: 9-liter box, six widths and a stated cutting area – with one fixed slice width.
Best for: Bakers of pan loaves who want guide and bread storage in one countertop set.
Strengths
- 9 L bread box, crumb tray works as the lid (listing)
- Six width settings, cutting area 12.8 × 7.87 × 3.94 in (listing)
- Budget price class
Weaknesses
- One fixed slice thickness of 0.47 in (1.2 cm) per listing
- Cutting height 3.94 in – low for domed loaves
- Seller data only, knife not included
- Type
- Slicing guide with bread box
- Slice thickness
- 0.47 in (1.2 cm), fixed (listing)
- Loaf size
- cutting area 12.8 × 7.87 × 3.94 in, six widths (listing)
- Size
- 14 × 9 × 6 in (listing)
- Carriage & holder
- Crumb tray as box lid, 9 L box (listing)
Price class: Budget
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonAdKiss Core pull-out with bread box
The pull-out version adds a removable cutting board at the bottom: you pull it out and it carries the slices into the clear 9-liter box, while a baffle takes the crumbs with it, according to the listing. The guide folds into the back. It names no slice width and no loaf limits, which makes it harder to judge than its sibling.
CAWIU with box
The CAWIU set uses a 7.5-liter airtight box with a bamboo lid and a guide that cuts 0.48-inch slices through to the bottom of the loaf, with adjustable width, a back piece that holds the bread and a silicone non-slip base. The guide may go in the dishwasher, the box with its bamboo lid is hand wash only, per the listing. The rest of the CAWIU range is on the CAWIU page.
Kiss Core
Kiss Core pull-out guide with box
A foldable plastic guide with a pull-out cutting board that moves the slices into a clear 9-liter bread box (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Buyers who want to move slices into the box without handling them.
CAWIU
CAWIU guide with box
A foldable slicing guide with adjustable width, crumb tray and a box for storage (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Buyers who want a CAWIU guide that folds into its own box.
The documented alternative: Akebono with keeper
Globalkitchen Japan lists the Akebono slicing guide as a slicer alone and as a Bread Slicer & Keeper Set: about 242 × 164 × 218 mm and 714 g for the set, against 235 × 159 × 69 mm and 374 g for the slicer. The guide has five steps of 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm and takes loaves up to 200 mm high and 140 mm wide. It is made in Tsubame, Japan, and is hand wash only; the knife is sold separately. Only the slicer without keeper is in our Amazon data – it is our pick among slicing guides, with or without a box next to it.
Akebono PS-955 guide
A compact Japanese slicing guide with five fixed thicknesses and a crumb tray – you bring your own bread knife.
Why here: Our pick among slicing guides: five slice steps and a published loaf size – the box can be any bread box you already own.
Best for: Sandwich and pan loaves up to 7.9 in tall and 5.5 in wide, sliced with your own bread knife.
Strengths
- Five settings: 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 mm (about 0.4 to 1.2 in)
- Light: about 13 oz (374 g), 9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in – fits a drawer
- Removable crumb tray, made in Tsubame, Japan
Weaknesses
- No knife included
- Loaf up to about 7.9 in high and 5.5 in wide – too narrow for most round boules
- Hand wash only; plastic parts heat-resistant to 70–120 °C (158–248 °F) per part
- Type
- Slicing guide for a bread knife
- Blade
- none – bread knife sold separately
- Slice thickness
- 10 / 15 / 20 / 25 / 30 mm (about 0.4–1.2 in)
- Loaf size
- up to 7.9 in high × 5.5 in wide (200 × 140 mm)
- Size
- 9.3 × 6.3 × 2.7 in (235 × 159 × 69 mm)
- Weight
- about 13 oz (374 g)
Price class: Budget
View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on AmazonLearn more AdCovers for hand-crank slicers
A crank slicer has an open round blade, and it usually stays out. The manuals we read deal with that in their own way: the Zassenhaus Vintage manual asks you to set the thickness wheel to the lowest level and fold the base plate up after use; ritter says to turn the knob to 0, a position designed to cover the blade, and to keep the slicer out of children's reach. A cover adds dust protection on top of that.
The CAWIU dust cover is a plastic hood of 11.97 × 8.03 × 7.01 inches, listed for slicers up to 12 inches long and 8.1 inches wide. That rules out the Zassenhaus Classic (about 11.8 × 10 inches) and the larger Graef H9 and ritter manus 3. Unbranded crank slicers often state no size at all – measure yours before ordering. CAWIU's own crank slicer for round loaves ships with a cover.
CAWIU
CAWIU slicer dust cover
A plastic hood that goes over a hand-crank slicer to keep dust off and cover the blade (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Owners of a compact crank slicer that stays on the counter.
CAWIU
CAWIU crank slicer with cover
Hand-crank slicer marketed for round sourdough loaves, with a removable protective cover for storage (per listing).
Seller data only
Best for: Sourdough bakers who want a cover on the counter and accept listing data only.
What to check before you buy
- Loaf height. Compare your tallest loaf with the guide's cutting height – 3.94 inches on the Kiss Core set, 200 mm (about 7.9 in) on the Akebono.
- Slice width. Most box sets cut one width only. If you switch between toast and sandwich slices, choose a guide with steps.
- Box volume and counter space. 9 liters (Kiss Core) or 7.5 liters (CAWIU); the Kiss Core set measures 14 × 9 × 6 inches.
- Care. Plastic guides are often dishwasher safe, bamboo lids and wooden parts are not.
- Cover size. For a crank slicer, compare length and width with the cover's stated maximum.
Typical mistakes
- Buying for storage and ignoring the slice width. A fixed 0.47-inch guide will never cut thin sandwich slices.
- Expecting a blade. Every set here needs your bread knife.
- Ordering a “universal” cover for a wide slicer. “Universal” on the CAWIU cover means up to 8.1 inches wide.
Our recommendation
None of the box sets has a spec sheet beyond its listing, so none is our pick. If you want slicing and storage in one set, the Kiss Core set with bread box is the most fully described – as long as one 0.47-inch slice width suits you and your loaves stay below its 3.94-inch cutting height. If documented limits and several thicknesses matter more, take the Akebono PS-955 and keep the loaf in the box you already have. For a crank slicer, check the dimensions before choosing a cover. Folding guides that store flat are on foldable bread slicers, and wooden guides with crumb trays on bamboo bread slicers.
Questions readers ask
Is there a bread box with a built-in slicer?
Yes, in the form of sets that pair a slicing guide with a box. The Kiss Core and CAWIU sets on Amazon put a plastic guide with a crumb tray on top of a storage box. They have no blade of their own: you slice with a bread knife between the guide walls. Globalkitchen Japan also lists a slicer-and-keeper set of the Akebono guide.
What thickness do bread box slicers cut?
Usually one. The Kiss Core set with bread box cuts a standard 0.47 inch (1.2 cm) per its listing, the CAWIU set 0.48 inch. Neither lists other thicknesses. If you want several slice widths, a guide such as the Akebono PS-955 offers five steps from 10 to 30 mm, but its keeper version is not in our Amazon data.
Do I need a dust cover for a hand-crank bread slicer?
It is optional. The manuals we read ask you to set the thickness to the lowest level (Zassenhaus) or to 0 (ritter, where that position covers the blade) after use, and to keep the slicer out of children's reach. A cover keeps dust off a slicer that lives on the counter and closes off the blade area; check its inside dimensions against your slicer first.
Will the CAWIU dust cover fit my Zassenhaus?
Not by the numbers. The CAWIU cover is listed for slicers up to 12 inches long and 8.1 inches wide. The Zassenhaus Classic measures about 11.8 × 10 inches, so it is wider than the cover allows. The Graef H9 and the ritter manus 3 are larger still. CAWIU's own crank slicer with cover comes with a matching cover in the box.
Sources we read
Keep reading
- Buying guideBread slicing guidesBread slicing guides compared by spec sheet: thickness steps, loaf size, knife or no knife, plastic or bamboo – and when a guide is the wrong tool for your loaf.
- Buying guideHand-crank slicersHow a hand-crank bread slicer works, what the spec sheets say about thickness, blade and carriage, and which rotary slicer fits your loaf – no motor, no cord.
- Buying guideFoldable slicersFoldable bread slicers compared: folding hand-crank slicers and collapsible slicing guides – what folds, what the listings leave out and what fits a drawer.
- BrandCAWIUCAWIU bread slicer range explained: the crank slicer with cover, the sourdough crank slicer and two guides – what the listings state and what they leave out.
- Buying guideBamboo bread slicersBamboo and wooden bread slicers compared by listing and maker data: loaf height and width, slice steps, knife included or not, crumb tray, folding and care.
Who compares here
manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team
Bread slicer comparisons & explainers
We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.
- Spec sheets & manuals compared
- Sources on every page
- No lab tests – stated openly
- Publisher details in the imprint