Skip to content
Manual BreadSlicer
Menu

Brand

CAWIU Bread Slicer: The Hand-Crank Slicers With and Without Cover and the CAWIU Slicing Guides

CAWIU sells two hand-crank bread slicers and two slicing guides on Amazon, all in the budget to mid-range price class. The best-described model is the Upgraded slicer with cover: its listing names a 0–0.9 inch range, a 6.6-inch stainless blade, a wooden base with four suction cups and a removable cover. We found no CAWIU website or spec sheet, so every figure here is the seller's own claim.

by the editorial team updated October 22, 2026 4 min read

Disclosure: This page contains affiliate links (marked with *). If you buy through them, we earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn more

The short version

CAWIU is a brand of budget hand-crank bread slicers and slicing guides sold on Amazon. The Upgraded crank slicer with cover lists a 0–0.9 inch thickness range, a 6.6-inch stainless blade, 11.8 × 7.9 × 7.3 inches and 4.5 lb. None of the CAWIU listings states a maximum loaf size, and we found no manufacturer spec sheet, so treat all data as seller claims.

What's on this page

Who is behind CAWIU

CAWIU is a brand name on Amazon listings for bread slicers. On the listing of the sourdough crank slicer, CAWIU is also named as the seller, with shipping by Amazon at the time we checked. Beyond that, we found nothing to read: no brand website, no company address, no spec sheet and no manual online (search of 22 October 2026). That does not make the products bad, but it means every figure on this page is the seller's own description, and it can change with the listing.

The CAWIU range

ModelTypeWhat the listing statesPrice class
Upgraded slicer with coverHand-crank slicer0–0.9 in, rotary knob with scale, metal guide, 6.6-in stainless blade, 0.8-in wooden base, four suction cups, removable cover and blade, 11.8 × 7.9 × 7.3 in, 4.5 lbBudget to mid-range
Sourdough slicer (black, cream, red)Hand-crank slicerHand crank, adjustable thickness, slicing guide, for sourdough rounds; range not stated in the titleBudget
Slicing guide, adjustable widthGuide for a bread knifeAdjustable width, foldable, crumb trayBudget
Slicing guide with boxGuide for a bread knifeFoldable, adjustable width, crumb tray, storage boxBudget

None of the four listings states a maximum loaf height or width.

CAWIU hand-crank slicers

CAWIU

CAWIU crank slicer with cover

Hand-crank slicer marketed for round sourdough loaves, with a removable protective cover for storage (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Sourdough bakers who want a cover on the counter and accept listing data only.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

CAWIU

CAWIU sourdough crank slicer

CAWIU's hand-crank slicer without a cover, marketed for sourdough rounds, in black, cream or red (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Buyers who want a CAWIU crank slicer in the budget class and do not need the cover.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

The Upgraded slicer with cover has the most detailed CAWIU listing. Its listing describes the classic rotary design: a stainless blade turned by a crank, a metal guide and a fence set with a rotary knob. The cover goes over the slicer for storage. The listed 0 to 0.9 inch range is wider than the documented 1–18 mm of the Zassenhaus Classic, but it is a seller claim of the kind that our hand-crank bread slicer guide treats with caution. A 6.6-inch blade is smaller than the 7.5-inch blade of the Graef H9, which matters for tall loaves – how tall exactly, the listing does not say.

The sourdough slicer without cover is the simpler sibling, sold in several colors. Its title promises adjustable thickness and a slicing guide for sourdough rounds; we found no figures for range, blade or size in what we could read.

CAWIU slicing guides

CAWIU

CAWIU slicing guide

An adjustable-width slicing guide from the brand that also sells crank slicers (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Buyers who want a guide in the budget class with adjustable width.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

CAWIU

CAWIU guide with box

A foldable slicing guide with adjustable width, crumb tray and a box for storage (per listing).

Seller data only

Best for: Buyers who want a CAWIU guide that folds into its own box.

View on Amazon(paid link to Amazon, opens in a new tab)Ad · paid link · check price & delivery on Amazon

Both guides hold your own bread knife at a set thickness and adjust in width. The version with box folds into its own container, which helps if drawer space is short. Neither listing names the thickness steps or the tallest loaf. For a guide with published limits, the Akebono PS-955 takes loaves up to about 5.5 inches wide and 7.9 inches tall and has five fixed steps from about 0.4 to 1.2 inches. How guides work and which to pick is on the bread slicing guide page.

Strengths and weaknesses

Reasons to buy

  • Budget to mid-range price class for a crank slicer with cover
  • Upgraded model listing names range, blade length, size and weight
  • Guides fold away; one comes with a box
  • Marketed for round sourdough loaves

Reasons to skip

  • No manufacturer spec sheet, manual or website found
  • Maximum loaf size not stated for any model
  • No carriage or end-piece holder named for the crank slicers
  • Spare blade availability unknown

For whom CAWIU makes sense

A CAWIU crank slicer fits buyers who want a rotary slicer with a cover in the budget class and can live with unknown limits. Measure your largest loaf and keep the packaging until it has gone through. As with any crank slicer, the risks are mechanical – a base that slides, the last piece of the loaf and cleaning the exposed blade – and the Zassenhaus manual's advice applies here too: fix the suction feet on a clean, smooth surface and protect your fingers at the end of the loaf, for example with a fork.

Alternatives with documented specs

Which slicer fits you?

The Zassenhaus Classic is our pick for bread, at a premium price class; details are on the Zassenhaus Classic page. Another budget brand with a similar range is covered on the Brvclon bread slicer page, and round loaves in particular on the sourdough bread slicer page. Spare blades are a weak point of budget slicers in general – see bread slicer replacement blades. The bigger picture is on the manual bread slicer overview.

Questions readers ask

Is the CAWIU bread slicer any good?

We cannot say from a test, because neither we nor any independent lab we know of has tested it. On paper, the Upgraded model with cover is described in more detail than most budget crank slicers: thickness range, blade length, size, weight, suction cups and cover. What no listing states is the largest loaf it takes, which decides whether a sourdough boule fits.

How thick can the CAWIU crank slicer cut?

The listing of the Upgraded slicer with cover names 0 to 0.9 inch, set with a rotary knob and a scale line. That is the seller's claim; there is no data sheet to confirm it. For comparison, the documented Zassenhaus Classic cuts from 1 to 18 mm, about 1/25 to 0.7 inch.

Who makes CAWIU bread slicers?

CAWIU appears as the brand and, for the sourdough crank slicer, as the seller on Amazon. We found no CAWIU website, no manufacturer address and no spec sheet in a search on 22 October 2026. Without a spec sheet, we label the products “Seller data only”.

Sources we read

Keep reading

Who compares here

manualbreadslicer.com Editorial Team

Bread slicer comparisons & explainers

We are the editorial team at manualbreadslicer.com. We compare hand-crank bread slicers, slicing guides and their electric alternatives using manufacturer spec sheets, manuals, retailer data and primary sources such as Lemelson-MIT – with sources on every page. We do not run lab tests, and we say so openly.

  • Spec sheets & manuals compared
  • Sources on every page
  • No lab tests – stated openly
  • Publisher details in the imprint

About us How we compare